We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$165
Expedia.com
AU$160
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$160
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
25
39
21
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
39
21
9
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2023 via mobile

We were greeted by a very friendly and cheerful person on arrival who checked us in quickly and efficiently. They also told us how to get to the main town where the restaurants and bars are....we didn't have a clue as never been to Geelong.
Parking on site was included in the room, which was a bonus, and had a very handy lift to get up to the room.
The room was clean and had all the amenities, including kettle and tea coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very modern and a good size.
We had a great nights sleep and was refreshed the next day to start our drive to Adelaide. It we ever find ourselves back in the area again, we would book again.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lindakhodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belmercer Motel, General Manager at Belmercer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2023

Hello Lindakhodder,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belmercer Motel, we appreciate all guest feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and we will be sure to pass along your lovely words to the staff members on duty.
We hope to see you again when you are next in Geelong.

Kind Regards
The Team at Belmercer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

Where to start with this one? I booked a twin room (1x queen and 1x single) here through Wotif.com. $181. I was flat out making the 9pm cut off for check in. The women on the reception gave me a check in form and on that I stated 3 people would be staying in the room. She said id only booked for 2 people and would have to get "the girls" to sort that out tomorrow.
We left and went on the rest of our trip and stupidly I booked it again for the way home. It was after this I noticed I had been charged $55 extra for the previous night for the extra person. On check in the 2nd time I marked 2 people staying (myself and my 6yo) as my partner had intended heading off that evening but wasn't sure as it was getting late. Thats where things went south pretty quick, the manager, probably the most abhorrent human I have ever encountered, started yelling at me from the ground whilst I was entering the 1st floor room asking how many was staying. I chose to go and have a conversation in the office instead of yelling. She said she saw on the cameras there were 3 people in the car when we got out and we had enough luggage for 3 people. Well yes, we had been on a 4 day trip. 3 of us.
I informed her the 2 person thing was a Wotif default search. I simply put the dates and the town in and then choose an appropriate room for my needs. In this case it was the twin room that sleeps 3, as per the advertisement. She charged me another $55 dollars, refused a refund as per the very convenient "no refund". She informed me that this always happens (im not surprised). She accused me of stealing by not indicating how many people were staying there. She was abusive and basically just downright obnoxious. You cannot speak to this person, seriously, she just speaks over you at every chance.
I honestly booked a room to accommodate our needs. in all my time booking hundreds of Hotels I have never encountered anything like it. Seriously guys, stay away from this place. I feel stupid falling into the same trap twice but i'd already booked it prior to looking at my credit card transaction. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE, THEY DO NOT DESERVE YOUR BUSINESS!!! I feel sillier after getting home and reading the reviews, seems to be a common theme at this place. I though given the twin share room that sleeps 3 was more expensive than a queen room that i was already paying for a 3rd person. For heaven's sake just go somewhere else, this place is just disgraceful!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeztrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belmercer Motel, General Manager at Belmercer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2022

Hello Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belmercer Motel, we appreciate all guest feedback, we also appreciate that you took the time to review us on two different platforms. However, we feel once again that it is only fair that the property shed some much-needed light on what occurred over the course of your two stays with us.

You booked a Deluxe Queen/Twin Unit for two via Wotif, and when you arrived at the property you filled in the guest registration form as two adults and one child, it was at this moment that the staff member on duty informed you that you had only booked and paid for two people to stay at the property and as such an additional charge was due. The staff member on duty asked you about your departure time the next morning and when you advised them that you would not be leaving until 10am the next morning, they stated you could fix up the additional charge due with the reception staff in the morning, to ensure that everything was correct. Instead of attending reception the next morning to pay what was owed, you made the choice to leave the key in the room and leave without speaking with any member of staff on duty. As such the next staff member on duty charged you the additional $55.00 which was rightfully owed.
When booking via a third party on-line booking agency such as Wotif or Booking.com or any similar agency you asked to input your destination, your travel dates (check in and check out) and the number of guests staying, this is further broken down into adults and children and when a child is selected you are then asked to input their age. This is a step you choose to ignore and instead used a default search, as such you booked and paid for a room with false and misleading information.

On-line booking agencies such as Wotif and Bookings.com, will show you the base rate for two people staying in a room, if you wish to book for more than two guests you are required to input their information to ensure that you are shown the correct room rates, and room availability. Just because a room has a certain number of beds does not necessarily mean that it is licensed to hold the amount of people that you wish to accommodate. You can not book and pay for a room for two people and then expect to have additional guests stay because you deem the room is large enough.

We at the Belmercer Motel, understand that when you first made the original booking, there could have been an oversight on your behalf, where you failed to input the third person when searching for a room. However, after the conversation at your first stay with the Belmercer Motel, you wilfully mislead and provided false information for your second stay, where you still only booked for two people. This is act of misleading and not paying for all guests in the room is considered to be stealing not only from the property but from the online booking agency as you are using products and services that you have not paid for. You would not expect to be able to book and pay for two seats on a flight and then have a third person fly for free simply because there was a empty seat on the plane.

However, on your second stay with us, you state that only yourself and your child were going to stay in the room, however you made the decision not to inform staff that your partner was still currently travelling with you and would be attending the room briefly before leaving. Furthermore, you made the decision to park at the rear of the property and unload all of your luggage and walk it up the back set of stairs and you continued to make the choice to have your partner wait around a corner whilst you and your child walked into the room. At this stage when it became glaring obvious that you were once again intending to have all members of your party stay in the room, that the staff member on duty choose to approach you and ask you to return to the reception desk. Please note it is only because you had previously ignored the requests of staff that CCTV was observed at check in time. The staff member on duty did not speak over you which a second staff member on the property can attest to, they did however remain constant in following the policies and procedures of the Belmercer Motel and asking that you pay once again for the additional person that would be staying, it was at this stage that you became aggressive with the staff member on duty who was just doing their job. And upon check out all three members of your party loaded your luggage back into the car and departed the property.

The Belmercer Motel would also like to state that to attack a staff members attitude and personality and to refer to them in negative terms is extremely uncalled for and not necessary as the staff member on duty was following not only the properties policies and procedures but also the terms and conditions of your on-line booking.

At no point where you refused a refund, the word refund was not mentioned by yourself or the staff member on duty, so we are unsure why you have decided to comment on our refund procedure.

The Belmercer Motel hopes that in future when you are using a third party on-line booking agency such as Wotif or Bookings.com you correctly input all the requested information, such as destination, check in and check out dates, and the number of guests including adults and children, and that you do not rely on the default search option in order to avoid situations like this in the future.

Kind Regards
The Team at Belmercer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

Very disappointed.
Overpriced for what it is, basic motel.
Also, they take an additional $200 deposit for extras? There is no bar fridge, so not sure what the extras are?
In a noisy part of town.
Poor WiFi, small television.
Overpriced, never again!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belmercer Motel, General Manager at Belmercer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2021

Hello Jeremy ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belmercer Motel, we appreciate all guest feedback.
Whilst we appreciate all guest feedback, we feel it is only necessary to clarify some details.

You booked an Executive Queen Unit on a Saturday Night on-line via a third party booking system, at the time of booking the room price, room details and terms and conditions were all clearly listed on-line, at this stage you were under no obligation to proceed and complete the booking.

You choose to complete the booking and by doing so agreed to all terms and conditions which clearly state a $200.00 security deposit is required at check-in, this fact is reiterated in an email sent via the third-party booking site.

The Belmercer Motel does not claim to have a mini bar or bar fridge, we do however have a small fridge in the room for your personal use.

Wi-Fi is offered free of charge for limited usage, if you were having trouble connecting or using the Wi-Fi a friendly member of our team would have been happy to help you.

Our televisions are moderately sized for the configurations of the rooms and provide free to air channels as well as limited Foxtel channels free of charge.

You booked via a third party online booking system and if you were unhappy with the price, you were under no obligation to complete the booking.

Kind Regards
The Team at Belmercer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

The reception is advertised as 9am to 9pm. After several calls for assistance, calling on the outside line I was informed reception would be in at 2pm. I was given an incorrect wi fi password and when I did finally access wifi it cuts out when you reach 250 MB. This is not a budget priced hotel, but service was scare and not friendly. I was refused a late check out dispute needing to stay out of public for an extra hour while awaiting travel necessary COVID test results. The room was fine. Some traffic noise and set in an industrial area.I wouldn’t stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kerri12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belmercer Motel, General Manager at Belmercer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Hello Kerri,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belmercer Motel, whilst we appreciate all guest feedback, we feel it is only fair that we clear up some issues stated in your review.
You are correct our opening hours are between 9am and 9pm, however reception is open for check out from 9am to 10am and open for check in between 2pm and 9pm. As a small family run motel our staff wear multiple hats and our reception staff can often be found in the motel units assisting with cleaning and maintenance. We clearly advise this on our reception door, and we offer methods of contacting the staff who always have the work phone on hand.
When you rang through on the external line for assistance with Wi-Fi, you were advised that the reception desk did not open until 2pm however a member of staff would be with you as soon as possible. At check in the day before you were given vouchers for our Wi-Fi system and we clearly state that there is a limit to the Wi-Fi and the data allowance, you were also provided with instructions as to how to log on. When a friendly member of our team assisted you, they discovered that you had already used the Wi-Fi dockets you had received and as such they went and retrieved more dockets for you and logged you back onto the Wi-Fi network.
Our staff were friendly and courteous to you throughout your stay with us and it is unfair to say otherwise. You booked your room on-line through bookings.com and it clearly states at the time of booking that this property does not offer a late check out as an option, but you proceeded with the booking anyway. You did in fact extend your stay with us for an extra night, so we are unsure how you can say you would not stay with us again.
You choose to make your booking via a third party agency who booked via an on-line booking agency, and as such you and your booking agent would have been aware of the prices of the room for your requested stay dates, you were under no obligation to book with us if you were unhappy with the price. Please note on the weekend that you choose to stay with us, Geelong experienced a high velocity of travellers and guests and as such room rates reflected the availability of rooms.
In regard to your comments regarding our location, we clearly state our address and our surroundings on the on-line booking agency you used, including photos of the external of the property.


Kind Regards
The Team at Belmercer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

The staff were very friendly, helpful and easy to check-in. Free parking was a bonus.
One block from the waterfront and very easy walk to the shopping centres.
The room was extremely clean. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H6858CCbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belmercer Motel, General Manager at Belmercer Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Belmercer Motel.
We will make sure to pass along your positive feedback to our team.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Team at Belmercer Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews