We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotel Website
AU$170
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
max t
Adelaide, Australia

Adequate

Review of Rydges Geelong
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Feb 2024
Well our luck had to run out after Warrnambool & Torquay but its not a complete disaster. It was clean although a little tired, bed was ok, staff efficient & friendly but I think theres better value to be found in Geelong closer to the promenade area. Its about 3.5 actually - not a 4 but better than 3
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review
Responded 6 Feb 2024
Dear Max,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your honest assessment of your recent stay.

While we're pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and our staff efficient and friendly, we regret that certain aspects fell short of your expectations. Your comments about the property feeling a bit tired have been duly noted, and we are continuously working on improvements to enhance our guests' experiences.

We value your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, where we aim to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
R Hotel Geelong on Bellerine Street, Geelong
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 6 - Anglesea Room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Novotel
AU$246
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$229
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Pool
Main Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$200
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Rydges Geelong
Free parking
Jamal and Val who are the Inn hosts are amazing warm hearted people. The rooms are very clean an
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Rydges Geelong
Free parking
Restaurant
Family Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Rydges Geelong
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Geelong
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
158
192
141
80
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
192
141
80
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed buffet breakfast top floor an upgrade would stay again bay view bit dated car parking great room city centre gary minibar hospital onsite waterfront position footy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2024

Toilet door squeaked loudly opening and shutting it. No face washers was weird. Not sure what we were supposed to wash our faces with. The dinner menu was very weird with too many fancy dishes and not something basic to choose from. The full breakfast was very simple compared to other hotels/motels full breakfasts.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Dear Kay,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your comments and suggestions, as they help us identify areas for improvement to enhance our guests' experiences.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the squeaky toilet door. Rest assured, we will address this promptly to ensure a more comfortable stay for our guests in the future.
We currently do not have face washers in the room however they can be delivered on request. Our front desk team is on 24/7 and are able to provide these if required.

Your feedback about our dinner menu and breakfast offerings is valuable to us. We understand the importance of providing a variety of options to cater to different preferences. We will take your comments into consideration as we review and update our menus to offer a more diverse selection that meets the expectations of our guests.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an improved experience that exceeds your expectations.

Kind regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

I felt the hotel was not value for money at $687 for 2 nights. This did not include parking which would of been $27 more and did not include breakfast each day which would of been an extra $32 per day - so an extra $64.

I have stayed in hotel all over the world and understand the economics of demand and supply and I understand that it was a busy weekend in Geelong with the Bike riding on - but i do think I got value for my money.

If parking and breakfast were included in that rate - it would have been better.

The hotel was clean, bed comfortable and staff attentive.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your detailed comments regarding your recent stay.

We understand your concerns regarding the overall value for money, especially considering additional charges for parking and breakfast. Your feedback regarding the inclusion of these amenities in our pricing structure is duly noted, and we will take it into consideration as we continually review our offerings.

We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean, our beds comfortable, and our staff attentive. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and we're glad we could meet your expectations in these areas.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more satisfactory experience in the future.

Kind regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

was a great trip, staff exceptionally friendly. Great room, comfy bed and terrific location. Really close to the main start and finish line for the Cadel ride. Very easy check in and out process. thanks for making the weekend such a great one.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hello Mark,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic weekend at the Cadel Evans Ride and that Rydges contributed to making it great.

It's wonderful to know that you found our staff exceptionally friendly and that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and convenient location. We strive to provide seamless experiences from check-in to check-out, and we're delighted that you found the process easy.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to be a part of your memorable weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back for more great experiences in the future!

Best regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024

You had the best mattress ever..
Only issue is parking $25 o’night unsecured & $3.75ph on street which is very steep.. Could not find any breakfast menu other than buffet? Not everyone wants full breakfast sadly.

Room tip: 3 out of 4 star Accommodation Clean & Comfortable Family Friendly Fantastic Mattress Close to CDB
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear Dean B,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at Rydges Geelong. We are pleased to hear that you found our mattress to be the best ever. Your comfort is our priority, and it's great to know that you had a good night's sleep.

We appreciate your feedback about the parking fees, and we understand the concern. It is $27 to stay in our carpark which you are able to pre-book before you arrive which is behind boom gates and surveillance.

Regarding the breakfast options, we apologize for any inconvenience. Down in the restaurant we have the buffet however we do offer Room Service breakfast.

Your comments are valuable to us, and we hope to welcome you back for another comfortable stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Bed and pillows were excellent! Room was tidy.
Shower needed a good scrub, lots of brown mould on the bottom and around the shower door. The sink also wasn’t really clean, as had the brown stain around the plug. This wiped off on the towel😬

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cruzinchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rydges Hotel Geelong, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Dear cruzinchickens,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Rydges Geelong. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the excellent food in our restaurant, as well as the comfortable bed and pillows. Your positive comments about the indoor and outdoor areas, along with the great pool and spa, are much appreciated.

However, we sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room, particularly with the shower and sink. Please be assured that we take your feedback seriously, and we will address these concerns with our housekeeping team to ensure a more thorough and meticulous cleaning process.

We value your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a much more satisfactory and enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Tobias Bondegard
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews