We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
AU$132
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
122
99
36
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
99
36
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews empire grill kardinia park hot breakfast room was clean would definitely stay here again next morning plenty of parking free wifi short drive motel footy fridge cats melbourne accommodation foreshore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

I am surprised at the negative reviews, for a 3 star motor inn I thought it was great.
Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and spacious and a comfortable bed. The room had everything you needed for a 2 night stay.
The location was perfect, close to everything and free parking was a bonus.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KateL943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Would not recommend.
Travelling with colleagues for work, I was booked into one of the older rooms next to reception. Room was large enough, but very dated and in need of an upgrade.
Floors were very dusty, especially along the walls, skirting boards were dirty and cracked and there appears to be small animal droppings in the corner.

I saw 2 decent size whitetail spiders and one large huntsman type spider in the bedroom curtains. The windows look into a messy yard complete with milk crates and boxes under the windows.

The hand wash dispenser had leaked all over the vanity, the toilet cistern cover was cracked and there was no hot water that night, and only just warm water the next morning.

The door did not latch properly (No safety chain), so I got a hell of fright when the door opened of its own accord while sitting on the couch.

The receptionist was leaving as we checked in so there was no one on site to speak to that night. In fairness, when I rang at 0800 the next day, and asked to be moved to a different room, this was done without question, but they didn't seem surprised or ask any questions.

The new room was a refurbished room upstairs, facing the road. This was a definite improvement, however it was very noisy, with several call outs from either the ambulance or fire station nearby. Traffic noise was also noticeable.

Minor annoyances such as only being able to use 1 power socket in a double power point, and haphazard room service.

My colleague also had a newly refurbished room, so new that there was a strong paint smell and the room hadn't been cleaned or vaccumed.

In general the property feels quite run down, pool lounges with shredded cushions, cleaning carts/equipment and laundry carts left outside and on walkways, inconsistent amenities and level of room it out.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2023 via mobile

After reading the good, bad and mixed reviews, we thought we’d spend a night at the Admiralty Inn located in McKillop St Geelong. Besides, the price was very reasonable considering it’s almost in the heart of the Geelong CBD. We only needed one night’s accomodation as we were catching up with friends for dinner.

Firstly, I’ll start with the positives; again the price, $129 for for a double room. It’s located only five to six blocks from the centre of the Geelong business district and within easy walking distance to the Westfield Shopping Centre, Market Square Shopping Centre and the many eateries.

The rooms offered are either located on the second level or ground floor. Parking is available and the bays are pretty accessible. If you are only planning on using the room for sleeping in then it’s fine. The bedding is clean and the queen size bed comfortable. You need to be aware though that McKillop Street is a main thoroughfare in Geelong and if traffic is an issue with your ability to sleep then you will struggle. The hotel is also located adjacent to the Geelong Fire Services Station and on the opposite corner the Geelong Ambulance Victoria Depot. So sirens may be an issue as well. We opted to have the cooked breakfast at the on-site ‘Breakfast Room’. We had the cooked package which is $22pp and there is the continental package at $17pp. Our breakfast was ok and plenty of it.

Now the negatives…. I would rate this accomodation as 3 stars at best. The rooms appear to be clean but on closer inspection there are cosmetic faults (see the photos I supplied). The bathroom ceiling above the shower appears to have several coats of paint over previous peeling paint. There are also patches of black mould. Some of the skirting’s need attention. The block out curtains also need attention with one of ours drooping due to lack of railing hooks. One corner of the curtain had the stitching come apart making it difficult to fully enclose the curtains. When making a cup of tea, we found one of the mugs had coffee stains (not cleaned), as well as one of the spoons which was also stained (yuck). We were quite disappointed that something so simple had been overlooked prior to our arrival. The large shower head has great pressure but if you’re over 6 feet tall you will struggle to fit under it. The free wifi was pretty poor in our room and we resorted to hot spotting off our mobile phones. The wifi however was good in the Breakfast Room. We also noticed that our front door had to be slammed shut otherwise it wouldn’t lock/close.

Overall, we tend to agree with other reviewers that this hotel certainly has its issues but if your intention is only to sleep in it then it’s just ok. Now that we’ve experienced the Admiralty Inn, unfortunately it will not be on our return list.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from McKillop Street - heavy traffic
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mitchell-Family-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2023 via mobile

Don’t stay here. It’s dirty and run down. Coffee/liquid spilt on the bench which was not cleaned and wiped up. I had to clean it with a cloth on my arrival. A paper clip/bulldog clip holding the curtain together. Toilet seat was up when I arrived like someone had just used the loo. Located on a busy/noisy road. I booked 4 months ahead and requested a quiet room (specially asking to be away from the restaurant and busy road) they allocated me a room next door to the restaurant and on the busy road. Unbelievable! The restaurant has an upstairs function room for weddings and parties) this room was on the other side of my wall…incredibly noisy!
I’m so upset with the management putting me in this room when I specifically asked not to be. I don’t want to hear the excuse…requests can not be guaranteed. I booked well in advance, was clear in my request and they could/should have given me a quieter room.
I would not recommend this accommodation and will never stay there ever again.

Room tip: Don’t stay here
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank MC8DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2023

The facilities in this Inn were OK - though there was no breakfast. However, it was very difficult to gain access. I arrived by bus from the airport, to find the place locked and nobody answering the doorbell. I had to go to the bar next door to call and was answered with a bad grace, complaining that it was now "after hours". There was a code but I had not been sent it. Apparently, he had tried to take payment from my card but had failed (even though it worked fine at the ATM) and had then sent me an email - but only that day. I was on the plane at the time and did not receive it, nor do I connect to the internet until I encounter a free wi-fi. He eventually came to the door and took payment with a card but very grudgingly - as if it were my fault.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank francish2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews