We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WestyTweedValley
Hobart, Australia

An invisible guest

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024via mobile
I'm a Best Western member and stay at their properties wherever I can. This would be the case of the invisible host. Because I had a couple of issues that needed to be solved locally, I called the property 3 times over a couple of weeks, and in each case it diverted to Head Office Australia. Eventually, email responses only. Even on check out, no one was at the desk - just leave your room card in a slot. It is very impersonal and frustrating if you need to speak to someone at the property.
The bed was very comfortable, pillows wonderful, clean, and basic amenities. Would I stay here again? Maybe not.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Don't have any issues that require a local answer from the property.
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Marketing at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear WestyTweedValley, we are sorry that our services did not fully satisfy your expectations. We provide a 24/7 live reservations service both locally and via Best Western and calls can be diverted either way. Appropriate team members will always follow up with queries that cannot be answered on the spot. Our records indicate that your queries were answered promptly and professionally and we very much regret you felt otherwise. Our reception team are on property from 7 am onwards and an express key drop check-out is available at all times. We are glad you found the bed, pillows and amenities to your liking. Thank you for your balanced review along with your loyalty to Best Western.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
Novotel
AU$284
  • Booking.com
    AU$284
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$255
  • Priceline
    AU$284
1.3 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Pool
Rydges Geelong
Booking.com
AU$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
1.6 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Pool
Restaurant
Room 6 - Anglesea Room
Tripadvisor
AU$245
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$245
2.2 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
  • Hotels.com
    AU$243
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$208
1.7 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Welcome to Holiday Inn & Suites Geelong, located in Geelong CBD
Booking.com
AU$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$170
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$229
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Free parking
View more hotels in Geelong
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
93
92
44
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
93
92
44
10
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2024

We stayed at this motel on departure to Tasmania and Return to Victoria. The rooms generally were clean and tidy, though I did notice a stain on the bathroom floor on our second stay. The place is generally secure, quiet and not too far from the Spirit of Tasmania.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

We booked because of convenience, close to Spirt Of Tasmania departure. Room was upstairs and no allocated parking, just park wherever. Worst part was Room had a very strange smell, like trying to cover up smoking? Was very overwhelming. Perhaps smoking on balcony?

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank wilsondm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 5 March 2024

Dear Wilsondm98, we are sorry to read that your stay was not completely satisfying. All motel rooms and apartments are strictly non-smoking and we find our guests are very respectful in abiding to this. We are sorry if there was an isolated incident and that our team did not pick up on it before your check-in. We are always pleased to attend and remedy any discomforts and regret we were unaware until now. We are glad most other aspects of your stay seemed pleasing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

I have stayed at this place for work on many occasions, and when needing a place to stay for my daughters wedding it was the perfect choice for the wedding party to get ready, given the spacious two bedroom apartments, and for several different types we needed. On dealing with the staff they went out is there way to help us given how many rooms we required. Nothing was too much trouble on the weekend and very reasonable rates and were very well looked after.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank flipperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 26 February 2024

Hi Fiona, all of our team felt extremely special to have played a (minor) role in making your daughters wedding memorable and enjoyable for both the bridle couple and visiting family members and guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024

The staff were exceptional and accommodated our caravan for parking. We as a family loved the pool, spa and room. Great location.
Residents were polite and friendly. Made our night before boarding the boat easy

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rebeccadR9262GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Bed was good size and clean. For the price I would have expected our room to be cleaned and new towels daily but it was not. We arrived at 5pm and were checked in by the cleaner as the manager was out. The next night our cards didn’t work. No manager in site. Called best western. The manager appeared from somewhere and spoke to my teenage sons(not nicely), swapped out the cards and took off. He went past me still outside on the hotel phone waiting for head office and didn’t say a word. Would I stay again? Probably not. Could only assume manager is not the owner

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 1 February 2024

Dear Debamo, thank you for the gift of your feedback. We sincerely regret to read that you were not fully content with your stay. Our guest rooms would normally be serviced daily with towels changed in accordance with the in-room environmental care notice. I am sorry that due to the passing of time we are now at a loss to offer explanation as to why yours was missed on that day. Please kindly rest assured that you were checked-in by one of our fully-trained Receptionists who was simply been doing some public area cleaning tasks at the time your arrived. Our team member who assisted your sons with room re-entry is not known for any aloofness traits and we sincerely regret any misperceptions and misunderstandings with regards this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews