We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Gatehouse on Ryrie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gatehouse on Ryrie
Ranked #3 of 9 Geelong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nice hotel, close to everything in town. We had a room just next to the road, but weren't bothered by noisy cars driving by, just the normal city traffic. The room was ok, the bathroom nice, and the self-serve breakfast was alright, nothing too fancy but better than expected.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were delighted by the charm of this lovely old place. We had our own kitchen, so we bought food and champagne at the nearby supermarket and ate a delicious meal in the warm ambience of our own private dining room. Paul, the owner, was relaxed and welcoming, providing anything we requested. Yes, the wild Geelong boys in their cars were a bit noisy, but it is, after all, right in the city. Just a fifteen-minute walk (or eight-minute jog) to the Botanic Gardens, seven-mintue walk to the Geelong Art Gallery and much closer to the Esplanade. Help-yourself breakfast, whenever you feel like it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Well-furnished and very clean guesthouse is run by friendly and flexible innkeeper. Contrary to the earlier review, yes it was in the busy part of town but the location was awesome and no noisier than any typical downtown hotel in our opinion. The TV in our room was new, but noticed a few open rooms had older TVs. I believe rooms are being continually updated. Free use of the WI-FI was a HUGE – something that other Australian hotels should look to provide. BTW, this place would be a perfect setting for a cool horror movie – where were the ghosts? :-)

Room Tip: If TV is important, ask for a good one and probably could get it ahead of time. As any experienced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

nice warm old house, ......
old being the optimum word, old beds, old tv's, old yogurt in fridge for breakfast
very noisy due to 24 hr Maccas across the road and endless supply of cars driving around with load exhausts, room was bathed in light from the street, - heavy drapes would help instead of wooden Venetians that don't cover the window properly

spend some money on the place !
update the beds, drapes etc and tv's and this place would be nice

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grunta_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

It's located at the center of Geelong, which has a supermarket and shopping center just 2 blocks away.
The doceration of the B&B is very warm and sweet. we have all the ground floor at that night. the kitchen and the sitting room is full of useful equipment and we enjoyed ourselves very much.
the owner Paul is a friendly guy:)
the breakfast is also delicous:)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zyuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.6 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 18 in Geelong
741 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 18 in Geelong
83 reviews
1.6 km away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#3 of 18 in Geelong
88 reviews
3.3 km away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#7 of 18 in Geelong
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse on Ryrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse on Ryrie

Address: 83 Yarra St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Geelong
Price Range: $102 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse on Ryrie 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gatehouse on Ryrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse On Ryrie Geelong, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing