We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake Lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake
Lounge with log burner
Cosy lounge area
Kitchen
Main bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Shower room
Lake view
View from cabin doors
View from front gate end
Children's playground
Play Caravan
Children's play caravan
BBQ and Firepit area
Relax by the solar heated pool
30lb 40oz carp
37lb 11oz caught May 2018
26lb 5oz carp
8lb Tench
Caught October 2017
Caught June 2017
37lb 12oz Carp caught November 2017
Caught March 2017
Baby Catfish at 24lb 3oz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Retiers, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Chad L
Lochmaben, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My granson and I wanted to fish in France for some decent Carp, but didn't want any of the big commercial places. We saw Barrys advert and it all fell into place from there on. The place setting is outstanding as are the fish stocks, all fish that were caught in our week with Barry and Kim were in perfect condition, I am pleased to say we both broke our pb and by quite a bit, the accomodation is all you need, spotless and clean, all that you need and if you haven't got it Barry and Kim will get it. The local town is only 4 minutes away and has a superb supermarket, Overall the place is a Carp fishermans utopia, a dream that you can only wish for, we had fun and the friendliness of our hosts was second to none, as I said during a very dramatic catch(which can be viewed on video at Kims facebook page) WE WILL BE BACK !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, fishing and company of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky b
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family fishing experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this holiday by chance on the internet and had no idea what to expect.
We were pleasantly surprised at the amount and range of facilities that were available for us to use.
My husband was able to spend hours fishing peacefully down the other end of the lake while the children were entertained. They loved the park and quad bikes and spent hours playing football in the field.The chalet was comfortable and well equipped with sky TV and Wi-Fi.
The weather was nice in the daytime but chilly in the evening but thankfully the log burner and heaters kept us toasty warm in the evening and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Childrens facilities
Liked least: We only spent four nights there, I wish it was longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greaat place will be returning as soon as I csn”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here in June with 3 mates, and was well pleased.
I've been carp fishing at a lot of lakes in France but this was the best I have ever been not only for the lake and fishing, but for the great cabin we stayed in on the lake which had everything we could want including sky sports which was superb.
The fishing was great with 2 thirty plus and numerous 20 plus carp, we had the whole lake to ourselves which is brilliant, Kim and Barry who run this are superb hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay so good.
Iam already looking to book next year easter and summer with my wife and kids as they will love it.
Many thanks Kim and Barry see you soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilda88
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So good we booked to go back”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I am a keen fisherman and had always wanted to go to France fishing, however, I wanted to take my girlfriend with me so it was important that she wasn't a bored fisherman's wife. We booked Barbret lake because it seemed to fit the bill, and when we arrived we weren't disappointed. The location was stunning, the accommodation was simple but comfortable and well equipped with every you need and a bonus of all sky sports channels. Barry and Kim were awesome all week long, nothing ever too much trouble.

As for the lake well what can I say, the fishing was brilliant, the fish are all in perfect condition and the lake is well stocked but not easy, you have to be clever to catch them.

But for me the best bit was that you had all this exclusively to yourself, whether its you and your partner or you and 3 mates its all yours. Peaceful, and beautiful location perfect for relaxing and forgetting your normal life, role on April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its exclusivity
Liked least: we had to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ber292
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires, nous sommes impatients de vous retrouver bientôt chez vous et votre famille.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;