We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Glenis G

Room didn't reflect what I ordered online

Review of Barclay On View
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2023
Room was small, bathroom was old, very low toilet, breakfast was poor, they did not have what was on the app to order breakfast and the poached eggs were hard.

Parking is on an angle and very little room to maneuver when large vehicles each side of you do not park in their own space

Be careful to ensure the slider on the outside of the door says make up room, if not, you don't get your room made up
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review
Responded 18 Sept 2023
Hi Glen,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us, and have passed it all on to the appropriate teams. We hope that you give us a chance to change your mind about us sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
    AU$176
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
1.7 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Room (Sleeps 2) This room has a warm and comfortable king bed.
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
0.2 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
0.6 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
AU$169
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$169
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
1.2 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$157
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$157
1.0 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
1.7 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen
AU$166
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
  • Agoda.com
    AU$166
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$153
0.5 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$121
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Agoda.com
    AU$107
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$123
1.2 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
facade
AU$197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$206
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Priceline
    AU$206
3.2 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
1.9 km from Barclay On View
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
239
190
63
29
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
239
190
63
29
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location art gallery walking distance arts centre elvis exhibition room was clean view street restaurants and cafes would stay again great room minute walk central location easy walk off street parking very pleasant stay cooked breakfast single bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2023

Easy and hassle free process with booking, checking in and out and access. Good quality room even if a little dated. Clean and inviting. Sound insulation between rooms could be improved but all in all still happy to recommend.

Room tip: Enter via the second driveway otherwise you will be going the wrong way! 😁
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Hi Ron,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that your stay was easy and enjoyable, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Paid $200.00 per night for executive room, very basic room, more like a budget room, did include a 20.00 dollor per person for BREAKFAST EXCELLENT VERY FRIENDLY STAFF ROOM DOES CONTAIN TOASTER plus plates
as stated the rooms do not leave you feeling you have what you expect for the price

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 446ralphc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2023

Hi Ralph,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that the room you stayed in had everything you needed. We are sorry to hear that you felt let down by the value of your stay and hope that we have an opportunity to see you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2023

I stayed for roughly 8 days with one stay being four nights, and my second visit an additional four nights. I intentionally booked a second stay for business purposes, but I couldn’t fault the service and the facilities they provide. Good value for money, clean and well positioned to town. My only recommendation is Netflix access as a convenient addition.
I expect to be back in the Bendigo area in the coming weeks and will be definitely booking it again.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

Hi Steve,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we will definitely look into streaming services for the rooms as per your suggestion. We can't wait to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Had a great stay here, comfortable room and comfortable bed, as well as a great shower. Breakfast either in room or in the dining room, great that there is a toaster in the room so breakfast toast was hot. Friendly staff. Check in and check out were contactless and worked smoothly. Located close to centre of Bendigo so easy walk to attractions.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hi Wilma. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we have an opportunity to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2023

Have been staying the same hotel since 15years,Always good customer service,Clean and Comfortable bed.. customer service excellent…would recommend any best price in cbd….. Gym, Soa and breakfast service, free wifi….what else we need for tourist or people on work…

Room tip: No tips.. best place to stay
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SURESHG375
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Brown, General Manager at Barclay On View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi Suresh,
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your time with us as much as we enjoy having you stay with us. We will see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews