We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I lived in Bendigo”

Malayan Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Price range: AU$20 - AU$61
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2022

We only spent the weekend in Bendigo, because we couldn't get accommodation in Heathcote for the wine show there, BUT...we're so glad we did now, otherwise we would have never discovered this little gem. What a sensational dining experience. Not only was the food amazing, but the service was exemplary. Sammi, our server, was the most delightful young lady; knowledgeable about the menu, & very attentive & that level of service always makes the food go down so much easier. She could certainly teach a lot of other servers a thing or two about table service.
Now, the food. Where to start? The duck shanks were "lick-your-bowl-clean" delicious! And 2 of us on our table did just that, (licked every skerrick of sauce off our plate), because we just couldn't help ourselves.
For mains, we had rendang & pork adobo, along with the pineapple nonya duck leg with some rice & noodles as add-ons. Every single dish was superbly cooked & simply delicious. My favourite was the adobo, where the pork was so perfectly cooked, that the fat was unctuous & decadent, & literally melted on the tongue. Hubby loved the pineapple curry, & the rendang was a little different than we've had anywhere else, but still incredibly flavourful with perfectly stewed, fall-apart pieces of beef.
As people who love to dine out, & do it regularly, we found the prices to be very reasonable, especially for the quality of the food that we had, & were also pleasantly surprised at how well priced the wine list was. So much so, that the men enjoyed TWO bottles of Clonakilla with our fabulous meal.
Tammy, (the owner?), was the nicest hostess & was thoughtful enough to put us on as private a table as possible, as there seemed to be mainly larger groups booked for the night, so she was worried it might be a little loud for us, being one of the smallest groups there, (just 4 of us). Speaking to her at the end of our evening, we found that she was just as delightful as our adorable Sammi, & loved the pride that she has for her fabulous little restaurant, & rightly so; it was one of the nicest dinners that we've had when we've been away, & will definitely be back, next time we're in the region.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrsMcHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2022 via mobile

Good Malaysian offering lots of gluten free options although dishes a bit sweet for my tastebuds, seemed to be a lot of sugar in the dishes and not so much umami. Pineapple Nonya duck curry was the winning dish. Service was very slow on a a Monday night. We got there at 6.25pm and didn’t get our main course until after 8pm. Restaurant was busy but not full. I think they must do thriving takeaway business as entrance was full of people waiting for takeaway when we arrived.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank Flyer597278
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

We arrived for dinner and were guided through a lovely carpeted and warm dining area, to a cold a bland area, with tiled floor, out the back. Not a single diner in the other area, but we ended up in second class. Ok, not to worry, looked at the menu and ordered home made spring rolls, fried dim Sims, a short soup, Mongolian lamb, beef rendang and a special fried rice. The spring rolls and dim Sims were very good and tasty. The short soup was well below par with tough dumplings, and bland tasteless broth. Even the colour was off. The Mongolian lamb came out in a bowl rather than a sizzling plate, which would have been preferred. The beef rendang was good, albeit possibly not Chuck steak which is a sign of a true rendang. It could also have been reduced a little more to be a thicker consistency. The fried rice was bordering on being a steamed rice, and it could have spent a little longer in wok with a few more ingredients. While generally ok, there was room for improvement.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Ch1ckenKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2022 via mobile

My partner & I had a Saturday night, date night here. Restaurant was full & busy. Greeted & taken to our table. Cold night so the heaters were appreciated. Ordered a lovely NZ Sav Blanc, at a good price. Were advised we’d ordered a lot of food & they were correct! Serves are large & delicious. Had some really interesting dishes on the menu. Thankfully we could take leftovers home with us. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable attentive & discreet. Refilling our waters & wine as required. Highly recommend & will definitely return. A true local gem.

Date of visit: June 2022
1  Thank myrab2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2022

The new Restaurant manager/owner has the best recommendations for fabulous food. I like to try something different each time I visit

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pollyw584
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Malayan Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Malayan Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.