We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu, friendly service”

Malayan Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Price range: AU$20 - AU$61
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Popular with locals and it’s obvious why as food is tasty and staff friendly and efficient. The menu is a mix of Malay, Thai, Indian and probably a few others thrown in. Generous serving of Thai coconut chicken was good and not over spiced. Entree samosas and spring rolls were ok - the problem with small cocktail size pieces is the deep fry takes over the small amount of filling.
COVID safe rules were enforced in a friendly manner.
Would happily eat there again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank mpc1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Lots of super tasty options for vegan dishes!
We had 3 entree options which were all really tasty and then we selected 3 different dishes from the vegetarian menu section that were made into vegan dishes and the Massaman Curry with the chick peas was amazing! Tee also shared the vegan fried rice. The staff were very professional and friendly and the price was very good considering the high quality of the meals.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank brandon_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2021

Beef Rendang , Szechuan Beef & Nasi Goreng - amazing !
Such delicious meals in a restaurant with a relaxed ambience and well organised decor.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 361carolyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

As usual Bobby and Pam delivered a beautiful feast for Chinese New Year. Very well done under the circumstances

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank sheroldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2021

I hadn't dined here for some time, so was disappointed to see what used to be a VERY extensive menu significantly reduced onto an A4 loose sheet of paper (maybe it's a covid/disposable health thing?) However this was where the disappointment ended.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is very comfortable. Linen tablecloths and comfortable chairs help. The wait staff service was excellent. Highly attentive, polite and prompt. I listened to a waitress provide extensive advice to an indecisive diner on another table.

Prices are average for the area. Food quality and taste was excellent. The best Asian restaurant in town for service and food taste.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank keisha01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Malayan Orchid Restaurant also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Malayan Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.