We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Review of Gold Mines Hotel

Gold Mines Hotel
Ranked #10 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Price range: AU$15 - AU$50
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Historic Pub 3 minutes from the Bendigo CBD. Serving a large selection of Craft Beer & Cider from all around the World. Local Wines and a large selection of Australian made Gin.
Restaurant details
Description: Historic Pub 3 minutes from the Bendigo CBD. Serving a large selection of Craft Beer & Cider from all around the World. Local Wines and a large selection of Australian made Gin.
Reviewed 21 November 2023

What a wonderful surprise. On a recent visit to Maiden Gully we discovered that the bistro we usually go to was closed on a Monday night, so we booked into The Gold Mines Hotel. Because it was my birthday, we chose their restaurant menu. (They have an extended menu I think with more pub style meals). The food was sensational. My entree consisted of the best arancini balls I've ever tasted. I chose the brined and wood grilled kangaroo dish for my main and it was sensational. It was accompanied with smoked pumpkin, balsamic plum, pickled radicchio, plum & pepperberry jus and fried kale. Delicious.

My partner enjoyed his lamb too but said he would definitely order the kangaroo when we visit again in January for his birthday. We shared a bowl of thin cut kipfler potato chips which were great too. The dessert menu looked lovely, but we were well satisfied and could not fit in any more !

We were very well looked after by the friendly wait staff despite it being a very busy place.

Their wine list is very good but I did think their wines by the glass were a little too pricey.

We look forward to going back in January and dining in their excellent outdoor area again.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Demonflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2023 via mobile

Classic Victorian era pub in the gold mining area of Bendigo with a mid century modern decor. Wonderful food using local produce. Good choice of local and imported wines. Attentive staff. A great place to have a splendid meal.

Date of visit: August 2023
3  Thank DavidJo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

Outstanding service and outstanding food. We have been here twice recently and both times the service has been understated but perfect. The food is fantastic, from pub classics to haute cuisine. We will be back.

Date of visit: April 2023
2  Thank MHH0855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2023

My parents and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner experience. The ambience, food and service were top-notch, including for a coeliac diner. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 1,231,231,231,235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

Zucchini Flowers & Pinot Grigio
Barramundi & Steak mains & GSM
Freekeh Salad
Mango & Pineapple Crème Brûlée

Everything tasted amazing !!!! Service was great. Garden was stunning.

Can’t wait to go back in winter and enjoy the dining room!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank antoniette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gold Mines Hotel also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Gold Mines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.