We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing change of staff”
Review of GPO Bendigo

GPO Bendigo
Get food delivered
Ranked #20 of 340 Restaurants in Bendigo
Price range: AU$15 - AU$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Offering a variety of Tapas, Pizza, Char Grill and Desserts. Also offering a large selection of Bendigos' Best Cocktails. Also offers a sophisticated and beautiful balcony room for functions. A Mezzanine for drink with friends. A courtyard for meals and drinks.
Reviewed 12 November 2019

High recommend the pumpkin pizza and salt and pepper calamari. After a not so good experience at the GPO, where I ordered my pizza dairy free due to a food allergy, and was assured it was dairy free after I asked multiple times, only to find out it had cheese on the base. It was refreshing to be served by Portia. She was friendly efficient, apologetic, thank us for coming back despite our bad experience and got our order right!

Thoroughly enjoyed our pumpkin pizza and salt and pepper calamari and will be back again!

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

We arrived at 2pm with no booking for group of 10 for a late lunch....🙄. Place was hopping with live music which was fantastic!
Staff found us a table immediately and from that point we were looked after amazingly well for a busy weekend. Our meals were great, ambience lovely, they even suffered getting us ‘pots of tea’ which was outside the flow of things. Much appreciated!!!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gpobendigo, Owner at GPO Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Thanks for the review Heather. Blues and Roots was certainly a massive weekend for us and we’re so glad we were able to accommodate your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2019

Family dinner, tapas to start, followed by a variety of mains was excellent. Emily's service exceeded all expectations. Thank-you so much.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gpobendigo, Owner at GPO Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Thanks Ed, so glad you enjoyed your experience at GPO. I’ll pass on the compliment to Emily and our hard working kitchen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

Not sure if we hit staff on a bad night but we came on a Sunday night, the place didn’t seem particularly busy but we were made to feel uncomfortable with some of our fairly reasonable requests (cutlery, napkins, plates and fresh glasses).
Food was OK mostly pizzas, steak and a few other things. Drinks were good and guy at bar friendly.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Jennifer3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gpobendigo, Owner at GPO Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Hi Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to review us. I am truly sorry that the experience you received was not up to our usual standards. I have followed up with the team and they have certainly taken your comments on board.
Hopefully see you again for drinks and pizza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Delicious food. A great venue to unwind. Terrific service with a smile. Special thanks toAngel & Michelle.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank J0hnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed GPO Bendigo also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to GPO Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.