We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
AU$169
No prepayment needed
Priceline
AU$169
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
AU$169
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,781 results
Traveller rating
784
641
223
85
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
784
641
223
85
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small hospital grounds art series hotel coffee pods room size car park short stay an overnight stay town centre artwork cafe quirky pantry bed balcony stools studio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,781 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2023

I had stayed at the Mercure Bendigo Schaller some years ago (2020) so enjoyed the opportunity of staying here again for two nights in June 2023.

I love the modern, almost funky, ambience of this place with its art on its sleeve at every turn. The rooms are small, but very modern, clean and well-designed, as are the bathrooms. I slept extremely well and enjoyed this return visit.

The staff were very friendly, kind and helpful, and parking was plentiful (and free). The breakfast options were absolutely fine, and the coffee excellent. Unlike my earlier visit (when there was a buffet breakfast) the breakfast service is now ordered at the counter from a menu, but the service when I was there was quick and I had no complaints at all about the food.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrahamsMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

Fun and well appointed hotel with mostly excellent service. Unfortunately, the breakfast menu was inflexible and we had to find an alternative Cafe. As a person sensitive to egg yolk I was unable to persuade the kitchen to do fried egg whites or scrambled egg whites.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We are happy to see that you had an amazing experience at Mercure Bendigo. Thanks for sharing. I am terribly sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2023

The room was shockingly small. Smaller than a 24ft caravan, more crowded and fewer facilities. A tiny house would be more comfortable. Then the room price was more indicative of a standard motel room tan a better class hotel room.

There was a smell pervasive throughout the hotel that was unpleasant, and the persistent smell of food from The Pantry cafe beside reception was distasteful. This was backed up with a soggy and poorly prepared breakfast in the morning. There are much better choices in Bendigo than this hotel.

Room tip: If you like to hang out in the lounge with the stale smell of breakfast foods because the room is so tiny, this for you.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3500caroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the Cafe experience. Our rooms are compact and measure 19 m² / 204 sq ft. displayed online and, the rooms are very functional, designed to make you feel welcoming and luxe. For your future stay, please select and book our Superior room for a bit more space. The superior room is made of a standard room and an interconnecting room that is set up as a lounge. Here is a walk view link for our Superior Room: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=UnCj8m4QBP6. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023

The room smelt of mould and the shower was dirty. And on inspection the manager even blocked her nose when entering. I was offered to change rooms which i declined, because of rhe fact if they gave that room to me for $250 then someone else will end up in there.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. However, we offered to move you into another room at the time, but it was declined. We even went and assisted in adding a scent to the room, however, there was no mould in the bathroom or room itself. The duty manager offered to move you into another room multiple times, but it was declined every time. Our pricing is dynamic and is affected by few factors such as demand, occupancy and local events if any. I do apologise for the inconvenience, but we also tried to ensure that we resolve any issues at the time. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

Extremely small room. Double bed, not a queen, so feet were hanging out the end. Not even room for luggage. Balcony is more like a window sill. Very overpriced for what you get. Won't be recommending this place. Only positive were the art works, they were great.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karenbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our rooms are compact and measure 19 m² / 204 sq ft. displayed online and, the rooms are very functional, designed to make you feel welcoming and luxe. For your future stay, please select and book our Superior room for a bit more space. The superior room is made of a standard room and an interconnecting room that is set up as a lounge. Here is a walk view link for our Superior Room: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=UnCj8m4QBP6. We hope that your enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews