We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
AU$169
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
AU$169
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$169
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Maureen H

Fun accommodation, good service, but inflexible breakfast.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 June 2023via mobile
Fun and well appointed hotel with mostly excellent service. Unfortunately, the breakfast menu was inflexible and we had to find an alternative Cafe. As a person sensitive to egg yolk I was unable to persuade the kitchen to do fried egg whites or scrambled egg whites.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this review
Responded 18 Sept 2023
We are happy to see that you had an amazing experience at Mercure Bendigo. Thanks for sharing. I am terribly sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$147
  • Official Site
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$147
0.6 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$134
  • Hotels.com
    AU$148
1.2 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$171
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
0.7 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
0.6 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
facade
Official Website
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$164
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
2.6 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Room (Sleeps 2) This room has a warm and comfortable king bed.
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$129
  • Hotels.com
    AU$151
1.1 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$151
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • StayForLong
2.1 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
2.9 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Mercure Bendigo Schaller
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
784
641
225
85
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
784
641
225
85
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small hospital grounds art series hotel coffee pods room size car park short stay an overnight stay town centre artwork cafe quirky pantry bed balcony stools studio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2023

The room was shockingly small. Smaller than a 24ft caravan, more crowded and fewer facilities. A tiny house would be more comfortable. Then the room price was more indicative of a standard motel room tan a better class hotel room.

There was a smell pervasive throughout the hotel that was unpleasant, and the persistent smell of food from The Pantry cafe beside reception was distasteful. This was backed up with a soggy and poorly prepared breakfast in the morning. There are much better choices in Bendigo than this hotel.

Room tip: If you like to hang out in the lounge with the stale smell of breakfast foods because the room is so tiny, this for you.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3500caroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the Cafe experience. Our rooms are compact and measure 19 m² / 204 sq ft. displayed online and, the rooms are very functional, designed to make you feel welcoming and luxe. For your future stay, please select and book our Superior room for a bit more space. The superior room is made of a standard room and an interconnecting room that is set up as a lounge. Here is a walk view link for our Superior Room: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=UnCj8m4QBP6. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023

The room smelt of mould and the shower was dirty. And on inspection the manager even blocked her nose when entering. I was offered to change rooms which i declined, because of rhe fact if they gave that room to me for $250 then someone else will end up in there.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. However, we offered to move you into another room at the time, but it was declined. We even went and assisted in adding a scent to the room, however, there was no mould in the bathroom or room itself. The duty manager offered to move you into another room multiple times, but it was declined every time. Our pricing is dynamic and is affected by few factors such as demand, occupancy and local events if any. I do apologise for the inconvenience, but we also tried to ensure that we resolve any issues at the time. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

Extremely small room. Double bed, not a queen, so feet were hanging out the end. Not even room for luggage. Balcony is more like a window sill. Very overpriced for what you get. Won't be recommending this place. Only positive were the art works, they were great.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karenbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our rooms are compact and measure 19 m² / 204 sq ft. displayed online and, the rooms are very functional, designed to make you feel welcoming and luxe. For your future stay, please select and book our Superior room for a bit more space. The superior room is made of a standard room and an interconnecting room that is set up as a lounge. Here is a walk view link for our Superior Room: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=UnCj8m4QBP6. We hope that your enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2023

Rooms are tiny. Double Bed is comfortable but small. Balcony is nice to have just a pity it is so very small.
We had a 2 night stay and on the second day they do not replenish the coffee pods which is very poor given you pay the same rate for both nights
Kitchen is only open very limited hours

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kerryr795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mercure Bendigo Schaller, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Bendigo Schaller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our rooms are compact and measure 19 m² / 204 sq ft. displayed online and, the rooms are very functional, designed to make you feel welcoming and luxe. For your future stay, please select and book our Superior room for a bit more space. The superior room is made of a standard room and an interconnecting room that is set up as a lounge. Here is a walk view link for our Superior Room: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=UnCj8m4QBP6. Our Cafe timings are displayed and guests are provided with information upon check in as well. The Cafe does have operational hours, just as any other Cafe business. We hope that your enjoyed the rest of your visit to Bendigo. Best Wishes, Hotel Manager, Faiz Rashid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2022

This was an ideal hotel. It was modern in all aspects. The room had a balcony. The lift was always available. The bathroom was excellently set up. It was al little hard to find but that meant it was quiet. Probably the trendiest hotel I have been to for a while. The room was a little small and the coffee maker was great.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K1063KUphilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews