We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letdown”

The Old Boundary Hotel
Ranked #6 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Read great reviews so travelled to Bendigo for lunch.
Wonderful ambiance, memorabilia and atmosphere.
Food was a big letdown. 3x Eye fillets sinewy, tough and seemed braised. Vegetables were warmed not cooked.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank pocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2023 via mobile

Attended as part of a group with a work function. A beautiful building, friendly and helpful staff and the meals were amazing.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

This is a real local pub and has that country pub feel. There are several areas for eating and the menu is extensive as well as great prices. The meals themselves and delish and sizeable too. Bar staff are friendly and always with a smile.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Aussie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023

As other reviews suggest, this very historic pub is well presented and provides good food at reasonable prices. A cut above the typical pub menu - has the classics, but then some. We both opted for a lamb rack special served generously with veg and a delicious jus. Again both opted for the panacotta dessert, mainly because we could see the huge size of some of the (delicious looking) slices of cake coming out, and that was also luscious. Great selection of local wines and the service was excellent. Great find thanks to our fellow reviewers here in TA.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Essbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Food is fantastic. The menu has such variety, every meal was brilliant. The hotel has so much charm and staff are helpful and friendly

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dearne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Old Boundary Hotel also viewed

 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to The Old Boundary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.