We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food”
Review of Masons of Bendigo

Masons of Bendigo
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nestled under a chic black awning on Queen Street in the heart of Bendigo’s bustling CBD district awaits Masons of Bendigo – a modern, sophisticated restaurant with a welcoming relaxed ambiance. First opened on March 26 2012, husband and wife chef team Nick and Sonia Anthony have carved out a unique place in Bendigo’s increasingly vibrant culinary scene. Providing lunch Fridays and Saturdays; dinner service 5 days a week, like a great Bordeaux, Masons of Bendigo is a unique expression of its location, its environment and the people.
Reviewed 12 April 2024

We really enjoyed all components of the 5 course menu, it was hard to pick a favourite! The service we had from start to finish was warm and friendly, and really made the experience for us.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2024

We chose to go to Masons for my birthday and our wedding anniversary. We went for dinner. The staff were amazing, the food to die for, so tasty and different from anything we would order. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Excellent food and excellent service. The restaurant also caters for dietary needs. Most enjoyable. A must try dining experience.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Swee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Multi course fine dining in the regions without a major Chef's name.

No easily found current reviews of the set menu format.

Instagram oriented picture perfect photos of complex dishes possibly too good to be true.

This was a punt that we are extremely glad we took.

An excellent, well thought out series of dishes highlighting local product all with great textual contrast and impressive flavour impact.
Both the Chicken and Guanciale tortelloni and the lamb shoulder dish were highlights, while the house sourdough, smoked miso butter and nori powder, a clever, impressive and delicious surprise....hard to achieve with so basic a staple.
Dessert, though tasty enough, let down a little by dry/or perhaps too cold vanilla sponge which the very small quantity of roasted strawberries failed to ameliorate.

This well paced dinner at $110 is a bargain for this substantial and elegant meal.

Predominantly local, interesting and fairly priced wine list..... though for the wine buffs not familiar with the region some prior online research is recommended.

Friendly service in a lovely space.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank detman2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

I returned to Masons for the first time since the pandemic. It was as I remembered - amazing food and great service.

We did a road trip for the day to look at the sites, but Masons was the main destination.

We had the 5 course lunch (I think it was actually 6 courses, but who is counting) and every course was amazing. The lamb was beyond outstanding.

Very happy

Highly recommended

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Masons of Bendigo also viewed

 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Masons of Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.