We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Food”
Review of Masons of Bendigo

Masons of Bendigo
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled under a chic black awning on Queen Street in the heart of Bendigo’s bustling CBD district awaits Masons of Bendigo – a modern, sophisticated restaurant with a welcoming relaxed ambiance. First opened on March 26 2012, husband and wife chef team Nick and Sonia Anthony have carved out a unique place in Bendigo’s increasingly vibrant culinary scene. Providing lunch Fridays and Saturdays; dinner service 5 days a week, like a great Bordeaux, Masons of Bendigo is a unique expression of its location, its environment and the people.
Reviewed 10 May 2021

We had dinner and enjoyed the innovative dishes. A few things were a bit on the gimmicky side and the lamb was extremely salty. Good wine list. What stands out is the the excellent, professional service. Good value for money...

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zauberberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

We had been told that this was a must go to restaurant in Bendigo. Unfortunately, this was a huge disappointment. They offer a set 5 course menu. We arrived at 7.30 pm and were served our first course at 8.30 pm. It was a Tuesday evening and the restaurant was not full. We asked that the service be speeded up, and the next course arrived at 8.50 pm. We could see the kitchen and the chefs didn't seem to have any passion for what they were doing. For all the hype, the food was nothing to write home about. My wife is gluten intolerant, which was resolved by taking anything off the dish that contained gluten rather that preparing a gluten free alternative, which would not have been difficult at all. We had booked and advised of her condition over a month prior. We won't be returning.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank geoffreyf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

Simply the best - this place is amazing. To be honest when I arrived and saw the degustation menu I wasn’t sure - pork hock, quail, rabbit etc. but every dish was amazing and some terrific local service - friendly and chatty and they really knew their stuff. This is fine dining but it is still real food and a great night out. Book ahead.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Lambo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021

We went to Mason's for a family birthday celebration, and had the lunch roaming menu. What a fantastic experience. The service was excellent with the wait staff polite, attentive and helpful; the atmosphere was lovely and watching the chef's bring our food to life added an extra flare of ambiance; but the best element was the food which was spectacular - the presentation and the taste was to die for, truly something special. The drinks menu is extensive and my espresso martini was delicious. We will definitely return, for dinner next time.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashleigh1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

Tempura rockling - to summarise this dish, flawless

Zucchini flowers - kale needed seasoning and preserved lemon on the plate was no where near enough for the serving size

Wimmera duck - although the duck was lovely the coconut rice and turmeric curry was definitely the star of this dish

Pork scotch - usually I am not over the moon for Brussels sprouts but I must say they were cooked to perfection, only down side was the pork was slightly dry

Lemon tart - only comment here would be that the puffed quiona could be replaced with something of similar texture.

Wine pairing - five wines were included in this experience. The first three were lovely, the last two I felt were a little heavy for me personally.

Most staff were very knowledgeable about the menu however some have more table experience then others. We experienced one staff member placing cutlery on the wrong side of the table, more basic training for this staff member was defiantly in need. Additionally the same staff member when serving our meal did not know what they were serving us and the gentleman pouring our wine quickly jumped in to assist with the explanation.

Additionally we were left with the same cutlery between the two ‘main’ meals, given the meal flavour profiles were very different this was not ideal. Although we did ask for our cutlery to be changed it was slightly disappointing that our experience could have been incredible had some more attention been given to the finer details.

Lastly my partner had arranged this as a birthday dinner and on the booking information when asked was there anything else that the restaurant needed to know he noted that it was a birthday celebration and asked if something could have been said or done for this, as my partner said to myself a simple ‘happy birthday’ from a staff member would have made the night slightly more memorable.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Masons of Bendigo also viewed

 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Masons of Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.