We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu - April 2021 ”
Review of Masons of Bendigo

Masons of Bendigo
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled under a chic black awning on Queen Street in the heart of Bendigo’s bustling CBD district awaits Masons of Bendigo – a modern, sophisticated restaurant with a welcoming relaxed ambiance. First opened on March 26 2012, husband and wife chef team Nick and Sonia Anthony have carved out a unique place in Bendigo’s increasingly vibrant culinary scene. Providing lunch Fridays and Saturdays; dinner service 5 days a week, like a great Bordeaux, Masons of Bendigo is a unique expression of its location, its environment and the people.
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

Tempura rockling - to summarise this dish, flawless

Zucchini flowers - kale needed seasoning and preserved lemon on the plate was no where near enough for the serving size

Wimmera duck - although the duck was lovely the coconut rice and turmeric curry was definitely the star of this dish

Pork scotch - usually I am not over the moon for Brussels sprouts but I must say they were cooked to perfection, only down side was the pork was slightly dry

Lemon tart - only comment here would be that the puffed quiona could be replaced with something of similar texture.

Wine pairing - five wines were included in this experience. The first three were lovely, the last two I felt were a little heavy for me personally.

Most staff were very knowledgeable about the menu however some have more table experience then others. We experienced one staff member placing cutlery on the wrong side of the table, more basic training for this staff member was defiantly in need. Additionally the same staff member when serving our meal did not know what they were serving us and the gentleman pouring our wine quickly jumped in to assist with the explanation.

Additionally we were left with the same cutlery between the two ‘main’ meals, given the meal flavour profiles were very different this was not ideal. Although we did ask for our cutlery to be changed it was slightly disappointing that our experience could have been incredible had some more attention been given to the finer details.

Lastly my partner had arranged this as a birthday dinner and on the booking information when asked was there anything else that the restaurant needed to know he noted that it was a birthday celebration and asked if something could have been said or done for this, as my partner said to myself a simple ‘happy birthday’ from a staff member would have made the night slightly more memorable.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

Incredible food. Great service. Good value considering quality and complexity of food. A real treat. Every time I come to Bendigo it’s my favourite restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MaryfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Visited on a business trip on a Tuesday night and was able to secure a same-day reservation for dinner for one person through the website.

The $85 dollar roaming menu is the way to go here which features six seasonal dishes from locally sourced produce. Every single ingredient that goes into the food (even the vegetables or nuts) is carefully picked and sourced from small-scale farmers and artisanal producers from around the area and this quality clearly shows through in every dish presented.

All of the dishes are smaller bites which ensures you do not feel too full over the course of the tasting experience and enables you to try a wide variety of different amazing flavours. On this particular night I started with a Pork Hock dish, followed by a Morton Bay Bug Dumpling, Braised Goat Shoulder, Chicken Breast with Duck Egg Pappardelle (pasta), 42-hour oyster blade and Opera Gateau (buttercream and coffee sponge cake) for dessert. The bread with smoked miso butter that is served to everyone as a pre-starter bite to eat was also fantastic.

Each dish had a huge 'Umami Bomb' hit to it, whereby the flavours explode powerfully and deliciously with each bite you take and linger in your mouth afterward. All of the dishes were standouts in their own right but if I had to pick a winner that evening the the first dish of Pork Hock with Chilli Macadamia and more was sensational.

The service within the restaurant itself was immaculate also, the attention to detail and careful explanation from the staff as to what each dish was along with their polite and accommodating service was as good as you would find anywhere in the world.

For the quality of food, amazing flavours and fantastic service, $85.00 for the roaming menu is a bargain and I'll be making sure to visit again the next time I'm in Bendigo.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ShadowBijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

Up for the Mary Quant exhibition and had a gorgeous lunch here.Food on the lunch grazing menu was delicious.Service really good too.We all loved it and would highly recommend .

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 580lizw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Amazing food and excellent service. A trip to Bendigo would not be complete without a meal here, lunch or dinner equally good.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank ronniesmum2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Masons of Bendigo also viewed

 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Masons of Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.