We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mellybowley

Awesome stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 June 2019via mobile
We only stayed for 3 days but yet it was an amazing 3 days the manager was exceptional room was impeccably clean and our stay the wifi was amazingly fast and our additional requests were promptly catered for cooked breakfast was amazing thank you so much for our wonderful 3 day stay
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive King
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
King Room (Sleeps 2) This room has a warm and comfortable king bed.
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$218
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$337
  • Hotels.com
5.8 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
facade
AU$197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Website
    AU$197
6.4 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$131
  • eDreams
4.7 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our beautiful decking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
7.7 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
21
19
8
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
19
8
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen bed motel wardrobe laundry tv toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2019

Stayed 4 nights as part of a group of 27. When speaking to the new owner before our arrival I was told the place was to be refurbished and not to expect perfection. It was dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The owners Terry and Cameron and manager Troy were first class. They couldn't have been more helpful with all requests handled promptly and pleasantly. Nothing was too much trouble. I shared a 2 bedroom apartment with 3 others and it was very spacious and well kitted out. Despite being on a busy road it was very quiet and overall we had a very nice stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 2323SANDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cameron S, Owner at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words. We enjoyed having your large group staying here and we look forward again one day to greeting you and showing you all the improvements and refurbishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I stayed at The Homestead Moor Inn Sunday night queens birthday weekend with my daughter, we arrived around 3.00pm to a warm welcome. Very clean and tidy,roomy,good size bathroom,quiet, easy access and parking, reasonably fast FREE wi fi, Easy to find and central for shopping.

Room tip: All rooms are ground floor.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieselfish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is always appreciated by us when we receive an honest review and meet the expectations of our staying guests. We hope that we may welcome you back should you pass through Bendigo in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived at this establishment and was firstly asked for my drivers license which I stated was an unusual request and asked why they required that. Was told firstly that I must not travel much (which is not correct) then “I don’t know, the owners want it” then told they needed it to check my signature. Was then asked to pay for the whole stay up front.
Arrived back after dinner and my 12 year old wanted to have a look at the swimming pool. The guy running the place (who was so (not) welcoming on our arrival) firstly sent out his German Shepherd then followed it out asking me “are you right mate?” He then pointed out to me I was looking at a barbecue, in a condescending manner, which was probably good as I wouldn’t have recognized it below all of the filth and rust.
On top of this, the rooms were run down with the hardest beds I’ve slept on since I went camping 30 years ago.
We got a discount on the shelf price of $150 which I thought was more than a little steep, considering it’s state and distance from town
Overall not at all welcoming, run down and over priced

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dd1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We thank you for your review on your recent stay within our motel complex. The process for proof of identification is one which we have followed for several years and you are one of the first to complain. As we had not met previously and you were staying on our premises we do have the legal right to request this information. As a motelier, we are faced daily with fraud, both on transactions and with guests staying, paying and then contacting their bank to advise that they really didn't stay and to request refunds, and hope now you understand that we must protect ourselves. We double checked with all guests arriving and staying within your Sporting Group that you all met and were understanding of our very friendly German Shepherd however we sincerely apologise if we misunderstood your wishes regarding our dog. The BBQ is old, however it is not rusty but well used and clean. The discount on your room rate was a fixed quoted price to the organiser of your sporting group's stay with us and the shelf price was no where near the $150 you quote, and if you double check your confirmation letter sent prior to your arrival, as well as your receipt and tax invoice you will see that this was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing accommodation. Very old and smells strongly of distasteful room spray.
In desperate need of refurbishing. Tried ironing shirt with no luck, iron is so old! Tag/test on hairdryer out of date by 4 years. Want two pillows each? sorry only one per person, no spares. Was not offered password for Wifi and unable to find it when I returned from dinner. Everything is very old and musty smelling. Not a fan 😞

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 889fayeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find the room your company booked comfortable. We have checked the iron and it is clean and in working order, we are sorry that you experienced difficulties with it. WiFi passwords are available from reception during our office hours and on enquiry we would have provided this to you. Our office is open until 10pm every night. We are sorry that you did not like the odour of our room spray, it is not something that we have had comment on previously and we will discuss with our supplier for ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My husband and I arrived here at the motel on the Queens Birthday weekend. We checked in at around 2.00pm and was told where our unit was. The owner, Christine, made us feel very welcomed and was happy to see us. It was really nice to be welcomed, as our previous stay at a previous weekend before that was, very unpleasant at another hotel in Ballarat. We made our way to the unit, and my husband wanted to set up the heater, as it was very cold. No heat was coming through, so I made my way up to reception and told the owner it wasn't functioning correctly. She came down to have a look and thought it might have been the batteries in the controller, but it wasn't that. She told us to take another unit a few doors down, I think the number was 20. We hadn't unpacked, so it was quick and easy to transfer our stuff there in a matter of a min or so. In that unit, the heater was working.!The room was really spacious and very clean. We had complimentary tea and coffee and biscuits. We stayed two nights, and on our last night, we decided to place an order for a cooked breakfast for the next day. It was easier that way, because we didn't want to be looking around the town for something to eat, as most places would have been closed due to the public holiday. Our breakfast was asked to be brought in between 8.15-8.30am. The next day, our cooked dishes came in at 8.20am, beautifully cooked scrambled eggs with two thick slices of toast buttered, and it was hot., my husband had sausages n eggs, and he was very happy with his.The eggs were prefect, not watery as some ppl cook them like that. On checking out, there were two owners at the desk, I asked who cooked the breakfast and was told Mick did them. So, Well done Mick! We thanked them for making our stay very pleasant and wished them well. We will return in the future for another stay. The only suggestion I would make, it would be nice to have complimentary small shampoo & conditioner bottles in the bathroom, and the small table situated near the TV, should be a bit higher, as it was too low, when you are sitting in the chair. But everything was great.

Room tip: Ring the motel for a better deal rather than relying on the internet for the booking.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneC3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Many thanks for your time in posting a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and are very pleased that we achieved making your visit to Bendigo a memorable experience. We supply complimentary handwash at the basin in all our rooms, as well as a 3 in 1 product - shampoo, conditioner & body wash in the showers. These two products are a European brand well used in most larger chain motels and world wide. Thank you for your critique on the small table in your room, your comments are noted for future refurbishments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan your visit to Bendigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews