We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Faye G
Melbourne, Australia

Basic or less

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2018via mobile
Very disappointing accommodation. Very old and smells strongly of distasteful room spray.
In desperate need of refurbishing. Tried ironing shirt with no luck, iron is so old! Tag/test on hairdryer out of date by 4 years. Want two pillows each? sorry only one per person, no spares. Was not offered password for Wifi and unable to find it when I returned from dinner. Everything is very old and musty smelling. Not a fan 😞
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2018
Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you did not find the room your company booked comfortable. We have checked the iron and it is clean and in working order, we are sorry that you experienced difficulties with it. WiFi passwords are available from reception during our office hours and on enquiry we would have provided this to you. Our office is open until 10pm every night. We are sorry that you did not like the odour of our room spray, it is not something that we have had comment on previously and we will discuss with our supplier for ideas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive King
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$176
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.7 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$153
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
King Room (Sleeps 2) This room has a warm and comfortable king bed.
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe Queen
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$153
  • Algotels
3.6 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$124
  • eDreams
4.7 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
The grand entrance of Hotel Ernest Bendigo
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$358
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
facade
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Website
    AU$197
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Booking.com
6.4 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Algotels
5.8 km from Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
21
19
8
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
19
8
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen bed motel wardrobe laundry tv toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My husband and I arrived here at the motel on the Queens Birthday weekend. We checked in at around 2.00pm and was told where our unit was. The owner, Christine, made us feel very welcomed and was happy to see us. It was really nice to be welcomed, as our previous stay at a previous weekend before that was, very unpleasant at another hotel in Ballarat. We made our way to the unit, and my husband wanted to set up the heater, as it was very cold. No heat was coming through, so I made my way up to reception and told the owner it wasn't functioning correctly. She came down to have a look and thought it might have been the batteries in the controller, but it wasn't that. She told us to take another unit a few doors down, I think the number was 20. We hadn't unpacked, so it was quick and easy to transfer our stuff there in a matter of a min or so. In that unit, the heater was working.!The room was really spacious and very clean. We had complimentary tea and coffee and biscuits. We stayed two nights, and on our last night, we decided to place an order for a cooked breakfast for the next day. It was easier that way, because we didn't want to be looking around the town for something to eat, as most places would have been closed due to the public holiday. Our breakfast was asked to be brought in between 8.15-8.30am. The next day, our cooked dishes came in at 8.20am, beautifully cooked scrambled eggs with two thick slices of toast buttered, and it was hot., my husband had sausages n eggs, and he was very happy with his.The eggs were prefect, not watery as some ppl cook them like that. On checking out, there were two owners at the desk, I asked who cooked the breakfast and was told Mick did them. So, Well done Mick! We thanked them for making our stay very pleasant and wished them well. We will return in the future for another stay. The only suggestion I would make, it would be nice to have complimentary small shampoo & conditioner bottles in the bathroom, and the small table situated near the TV, should be a bit higher, as it was too low, when you are sitting in the chair. But everything was great.

Room tip: Ring the motel for a better deal rather than relying on the internet for the booking.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneC3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Many thanks for your time in posting a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and are very pleased that we achieved making your visit to Bendigo a memorable experience. We supply complimentary handwash at the basin in all our rooms, as well as a 3 in 1 product - shampoo, conditioner & body wash in the showers. These two products are a European brand well used in most larger chain motels and world wide. Thank you for your critique on the small table in your room, your comments are noted for future refurbishments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan your visit to Bendigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

we stayed there a few weeks ago and really were not impressed overall with the was our group was treated , unlike most people who would stay at hotels we enjoy to have a chat and a few drinks , i don't think the owners/ managers like this and would rather everyone be tucked up in bed at 8.30 . The other thing we had told them prior to the stay was that our son may be dropping in for one night , we were told this was ok and that it would be an extra $ 15 dollars , granted he got there late we decided that it was best to approach them the following morning only to be treated like we were criminals and that the cost was $ 25 not that the money was an issue its just the was we were treated , maybe the proprietors need a personality tablet

Room tip: maybe another hotel
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bendigo H, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for your review, albeit one month on from when you stayed. We enjoyed having the Bay Rodders Group stay with us, it was fantastic to have such a group of friendly guests. We are bemused by your comments that you felt watched during the course of your stay, however you may be referring to the morning of your departure when we did notice and were watching that 2 extra guests departed your room with pillows and doonas and headed out the side entrance. I had other group members files noted with extra guests perhaps staying, however no note on yours for 1 extra, let alone 2. Your room is rated to sleep a total of 3 guests under council prescribed accommodation laws and 4 in your room is obviously a deal breaker, especially when we did not have notes for extra guests. We are however happy that you found the room comfortable and the free WiFi also helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The owners are absolutely fantastic and make every stay when I am here most welcome. Breakfast was arranged and delivered the night before due to very early departure. Great beds, linen and pillows, spotless rooms with quiet cool AC and Foxtel! Free wireless. Perfect - Jonathan

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jonathan-Barge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HomesteadMotorInn, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you were happy with your room and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Stopped here for a night and the lady who booked us in was very accommodating. We even received a senior's discount, though we had to ask for it. The room was spacious and clean, with a big bathroom. Also very quiet though we were on a main road.

Room tip: Most of the rooms are at the back away from the road, though best to ask for one anyway.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christine C, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you were comfortable and we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Bendigo in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Great value Motor Inn. Have stayed in all rooms including the Apartments, very clean and comfortable. Staff really welcoming including the dog!!!! I have stayed at other places but have always returned here, would highly recommend it, great value for money.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christine C, Manager at Bendigo Homestead Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and hope that even though it was a sad time for visiting Bendigo, we will see you again in the future. We are very proud that you are comfortable every time you have stayed, regardless of the room type you have accommodated. Mich also says "woof"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews