We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mitchell-Family-01
Australia

Great location and facilities but sleep quality lacked

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2024via mobile
My wife and I stayed at this Quality hotel for one night. The hotel is located on the main road through Bendigo - High Street, conveniently and directly across the road from Lake Weeroona. It’s a very short drive from the Bendigo CBD.

On arrival after 2pm we were handed our key and informed that our room was located at the end of the courtyard. On opening the door I saw the bed unmade and a tray of food sitting next to it. I returned to reception and asked for another room. The staff were very apologetic and as such, we were allocated another room in the same area. The rooms are standard but comfortable and clean. I would have given this hotel a higher rating if it wasn’t for the train line located directly behind our room. We had V-Line and freight trains keeping us awake during the night and into the morning. Also, although the room has black out blinds, there are no pelmets fitted to keep out the external room/courtyard lighting. I prefer dark rooms when sleeping. I’ve stayed at various other motels in Bendigo with better sleeping conditions than that we experienced at this hotel.

There are two types of accommodation available, firstly the rooms located at the rear of the reception/Restaurant/conference rooms (courtyard) are the older rooms as I described above. The newer rooms are located above the reception and fronting High St looking at Lake Weeroona. Then were rooms are dearer in price.

The hotel has conference facilities, a restaurant, outdoor pool and a nice bbq area in the middle of the courtyard.

Our
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway line
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
  • Priceline
    AU$179
0.2 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
AU$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
  • Algotels
    AU$169
  • Trip.com
    AU$169
0.8 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
  • Priceline
    AU$153
1.6 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Restaurant
facade
AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
  • Trip.com
    AU$164
  • Priceline
    AU$164
2.0 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$155
2.7 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Trip.com
    AU$139
  • StayForLong
1.9 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bendigo Haymarket Motor Inn
AU$119
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Agoda.com
    AU$105
  • Trip.com
    AU$129
1.2 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
AU$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
3.4 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our beautiful decking
AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$172
  • Vio.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$172
9.5 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Quality Hotel Lakeside
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
113
93
43
16
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
113
93
43
16
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new section pool area car park away from the road great position stay there again comfortable bed long weekend one bedroom apartment plenty of parking stayed one night single bed convenient location main road motel rear couch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

WORST MOTEL EVER, STAFF UNHELPFULL, ROOMS NOT VERY CLEEN, A BAD SMELL WAS AROUD IN THIS PLACE. LIKE DRUGS, AND A LOOK OF SHOUTING. THAT WAS NOT HELPFUL SLEEPING, GOT NOW WHERE WIRH WHIFI, DID NOT CONNECT, AT ALL. TRIED A LOT, BUT STAFF NOT VERY HELPFUL.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 492darylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Resta, General Manager at Quality Hotel Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear Daryl, on behalf of our team I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We have tried to get in contact with you to understand what occurred as this is very unusual feedback. Please reply to the email we sent you or give us a call. Kind Regards, Quality Lakeside Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

I came here for a conference and used the bar, the catering, and stayed in a Courtyard King room. The bar had a Happy Hour from 4-6pm, with good prices. It was a bit dear outside these hours. My room was huge and had a fridge, an electric iron, and an electric jug. A toaster would have been great, but they wanted you to dine in for breakfast. I thought it would be quiet at the rear, but the Bendigo trains now terminate to the North of town so in the morning they are moving back and forth. You do not need an alarm clock. The Lake is across the road and is handy for walks.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platypus150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2023

This Hotel has set a new benchmark for my husband and I, the WORST nights sleep we have ever had . We thought for the price we would be staying in the newer part of the hotel, but no out the back to the older style motel where the switches were unsafe, the sheets had holes in them, and the shower in all the units surrounding us sounded like a dentists drill when being used. It backs onto the train line so is especially noisy at night. The walls must be made of tissue paper as you could hear EVERYTHING! The pools were dirty and unless I had a tetanus shot I would not swim in them.
This hotel is definitely using false advertising to entice customers. So please do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Room tip: Don’t stay here .
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Willsacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023 via mobile

Front the front, Hotel has a very modern & inviting look, however our “courtyard room” was in an older, very dated separate section at the rear of the hotel…with a busy railway line just over the fence…very noisy, especially in the early hours of the morning. However, bed was comfortable, bathroom amenities good & the room was clean EXCEPT FOR A BAG OF HALF EATEN TAKEAWAY FOOD left inside the door. Obviously left by the previous occupant & not picked up by the room attendants. Told receptionist on checkout who said “she would let them know”. Doubt that we would stay here again.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the railway line.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 88BarbaraD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

I've travelled and stayed here many times for business, the service, quality and meals have all declined greatly. They no longer care or are customer focused and seek maximum profit from all clients. Their lack of understanding and patience to accommodate means I will no longer book anything at this establishment. I would not recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Brock W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews