We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$176
Priceline
Hotels.com
AU$174
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
165
261
110
47
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
165
261
110
47
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel council car park old world charm dame nellie melba high ceilings gold rush third floor central location street noise water pressure bed was comfortable pleasant stay spa bath visiting bendigo balcony icon pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2023

Made an error and booked the wrong month. As a result this lovely establishment is not going to refund me . Had already spent $250 there during the day and really liked the staff. The hierarchy is the problem. Smells like Qantas to me

Room tip: Book the right date as they won’t refund you.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacob Coad, General Manager at Hotel Shamrock, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Hi Rob, As discussed, we won't refund a non-refundable booking, especially when expletives are directed towards our team.

Everyone has the choice between refundable & non-refundable terms, pricing reflects this flexibility.

Thanks for taking the time to review us with 4-Stars for Value & Location however, appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2023

Stay was marred by dirty linen - make-up, hair and mysterious stains on pillows and sheets. Clearly they weren't changed between guests. Difficult to contact anyone as ridiculously, reception closes at 6pm! Finally in contact with the night manager who was pleasant and did try to rectify the problem by moving us to another room. Second room, which apparently was their best offer to unhappy guests, was still not great, with filthy carpet and yellow stains on towels.

A real shame because it's a beautiful, historic hotel. It needs to be restored to its former glory. There is a feeling that they're stripping out the charm and replacing it with soulless, modern details reminiscent of a cheap motel. For example, the room had a beautiful marble fireplace but it was covered awkwardly by a table with a note saying the gas heater still stuck in the middle of it is non functional. The door to the balcony was also boarded up, not used and desperately in need of being restored.

Had dinner in the pub, a bit of a cold atmosphere. A roaring wood fire would have been nice in the winter cold. Service was lovely, food was average (a real cheap cut of lamb).

We realise the manager was new to the job but there are some changes here that he can make to bring the hotel up to par with its past history and reputation.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hollycW8258PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023

The historic Hotel Shamrock dates from the 1850s, it is an icon of Bendigo. Bendigo was one of the world's richest goldfields, and the Hotel Shamroch reflects that opulence. The Hotel Shamroch is decorated in period style, the rooms are fitted out with bar fridges, electric kettles and comfortable beds. By the way, the bistro serves authentic cuisine., it's well worth a visit.

Room tip: Guests can store their luggage while they tour the city
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 619jeffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2023

An imposing hotel with a great location in the heart of Bendigo. Huge room, large ensuite and storage area, beautifully restored and refurbished on the 2nd floor . Overlooked Bendigo's main street, council chambers and parks but very quiet. Easy walk to attractions, shopping, restaurants etc. Enjoyed our meals at bistro and Yardbird Bar, terrific staff in both locations provided amazing service. Adjacent to council parking station - free on weekends.
Extended our stay from 1 - 2 nights and planning a return

Room tip: Alfred Joseph room, 2nd floor was excellent.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023

We stayed for several nights, room was specious and well presented. The room had a separate sitting are, divided off by a wall, unfortunately thee was only one light switch for all the rooms lights, therefor if one wanted to go to bed and the other read, all the lights in the room were on.

Upon arrival we were advised that teh lift was being serviced and not working that day, but the lift didn't work for any of teh three days there. a

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews