We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$172
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
74
31
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
31
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door wine tasting safari tent bell tent kangaroos grazing winery setting well prepared food lovely winery solar panels provided great excellent wine large range toilet shower tasting room walking track night stay accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2022

We stayed in Bendigo during the 'Elvis Gold rush', and found that finding decent accommodation at a reasonable price was a big ask. That's how we ended up at Balgownie Estate, where we secured an excellent room in 'The Homestead': large room incl en suite with two basins, strong wifi, comfy queen bed, nice view. But that was not the end of our expenses. Guests here are able to taste a large range of the estate's wines for free, and we took the challenge! We liked a lot of what we tried, and walked out of the Tasting Room with close to a box of wine. The other issue with Balgownie Estate is that it's 15 min drive to downtown Bendigo, so that once you have booked in you tend to stay. From what we could see there are not a lot of alternative eateries in the local area, so you are pretty well obliged to eat at their restaurant too. This we did - we thought our meals excellent, but at $70/head for 2 courses, $80/head for 3, plus beverages, it left very little change from $200. As things turned out, think it would have been much cheaper to stay in one of the much more expensive hotels in downtown Bendigo!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2022

Had a very cosy night stay in a cottage, heating was good, boy was it needed with the air temperature seemingly 0C! Had a wine tasting as part of the stay and was guided through the wines by an excellent wine person.

Room tip: Cottages are very comfortable
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peteraF8453VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2022

Well today we arrived to check into our One Bedroom Unit Suite 2 that we booked direct online. Was extremely disappointed when I looked into the spa bath which still had the used towels and was not cleaned. Very unhappy, not good enough.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinvE7510LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harry Wellborne, Other at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

HI Robin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we value all feedback and use this to learn about our errors and improve our offering. We are sincerely sorry that you had this poor start to your experience and we hope other parts of your stay were to a better standard. We take pride in our offering and this was of a great disappointment to us, I have spoken to the responsible department and advised that this is indeed unacceptable. It is my understanding that two other team members from other departments did come and rectify the situation as soon as they were notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Weekend well spent GLAMPING at BALGOWNIE ESTATE 📍Bendigo
.
We had such an amazing time Glamping @balgowniebendigo this weekend. Our glamp-tent was so cozy and included all the amenities that you can ask for and set in a perfect natural setting within a Vineyard.
.
Our Glamping package included a Cellar door experience where we tasted amazing wines from @balgownieestate as well as breakfast in the morning - which was completely delish.
.
Even though it was winters, we did not feel it at all - since our tent was well equipped with heater.
.
We would definitely recommend that you should go and experience this amazing getaway.

Room tip: Parking is available Book breakfast package
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank weeattravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2022

We booked in for lunch in the dining area and selected two course for $60 pp. Food was quite good but small servings and looking at the dining room the outside seating looked just as good. Service was very good. I just think that a wine included in the menu price would have been nice or free tastings afterwards in the cellar door. Just a small touch.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Marketing at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Hi Sue, thank you so much for your review and for your suggestions. Our recommendation is, if you have prior opportunity, try a wine tasting first, and then you will have some inspiration for the wine/s you may like to accompany with your restaurant meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews