We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
74
32
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
32
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door wine tasting safari tent bell tent kangaroos grazing winery setting well prepared food lovely winery solar panels provided great excellent wine large range toilet shower tasting room walking track night stay accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2022

Had a very cosy night stay in a cottage, heating was good, boy was it needed with the air temperature seemingly 0C! Had a wine tasting as part of the stay and was guided through the wines by an excellent wine person.

Room tip: Cottages are very comfortable
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peteraF8453VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2022

Well today we arrived to check into our One Bedroom Unit Suite 2 that we booked direct online. Was extremely disappointed when I looked into the spa bath which still had the used towels and was not cleaned. Very unhappy, not good enough.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinvE7510LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harry Wellborne, Other at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

HI Robin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we value all feedback and use this to learn about our errors and improve our offering. We are sincerely sorry that you had this poor start to your experience and we hope other parts of your stay were to a better standard. We take pride in our offering and this was of a great disappointment to us, I have spoken to the responsible department and advised that this is indeed unacceptable. It is my understanding that two other team members from other departments did come and rectify the situation as soon as they were notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Weekend well spent GLAMPING at BALGOWNIE ESTATE 📍Bendigo
.
We had such an amazing time Glamping @balgowniebendigo this weekend. Our glamp-tent was so cozy and included all the amenities that you can ask for and set in a perfect natural setting within a Vineyard.
.
Our Glamping package included a Cellar door experience where we tasted amazing wines from @balgownieestate as well as breakfast in the morning - which was completely delish.
.
Even though it was winters, we did not feel it at all - since our tent was well equipped with heater.
.
We would definitely recommend that you should go and experience this amazing getaway.

Room tip: Parking is available Book breakfast package
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank weeattravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2022

We booked in for lunch in the dining area and selected two course for $60 pp. Food was quite good but small servings and looking at the dining room the outside seating looked just as good. Service was very good. I just think that a wine included in the menu price would have been nice or free tastings afterwards in the cellar door. Just a small touch.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Marketing at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2022

Hi Sue, thank you so much for your review and for your suggestions. Our recommendation is, if you have prior opportunity, try a wine tasting first, and then you will have some inspiration for the wine/s you may like to accompany with your restaurant meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

I should have read the reviews more closely but I did not. I booked a one night stay in a bell tent advertised as a “glamping experience” for our Wedding Anniversary thinking it might be very special at $288
It’s not glamping, it’s a tent with a bed in it
Our view from the front was a dead wood pile and we had to carry the uncomfortable chairs out of the tent onto the deck to sit outside
The toilet is a hired porta loo toilet shower combination which is shared with another tent and was awful. A walk to these “facilities” during the night requires shoes due to the gravel path
The cheese board I pre ordered was sparse and not at all appealing.
This was an experience to remember for all the wrong reasons unfortunately

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oscar1232011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graeme Kuchmar, Marketing at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review Balgownie Bendigo. We are disappointed that your experience did not match your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously as it helps us continuously improve our offering. In line with this, we have scheduled significant upgrades to our bathroom facilities for Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews