We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Edith Head exhibition and so much more”

Bendigo Art Gallery
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1887, Bendigo Art Gallery is the largest, and one of the oldest regional galleries in Australia. The Gallery's collection is extensive and varied with an emphasis on 19th century European art and Australian art from 1800s onwards, alongside a strong collection of contemporary Australian art. The collection is complimented by dynamic temporary exhibitions and a diverse range of public programs and events.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I visited Bendigo Art Gallery to see the Edith Head - costume designer - Exhibition and I wasn't disappointed. The exhibition has many costumes from many famous movies for the forties, - seventies. Edith Head received 8 oscars -a clear acknowledgement of her expertise. The exhibit provides insights into her skills and the range of situations for which she had to design costumes. The exhibition does seem to attract more females than males .... The cost was $15 and $12 for concessions .

The art gallery building has its own history - Bendigo is an old gold town and has had some valuable benefactors throughout its history. The wooden floor in the original building is most attractive! I also viewed the regular exhibition and was delighted to partake of the free tour of the regular gallery - offered at 11am and 2pm daily ( no cost). Jan the art gallery tour guide, provided interesting background information of a selected pieces- it was most illuminating. There is a wide variety of art work on display - such as fabulous indigenous artwork, modern art , a pavilion themed for animals - with a painting by Kate Bergin-( Art & Tea with Kate Bergin ), Leigh Hobbs - Tom the cat , sculptures by Piccinini, Patricia to name a few ....
I wandered down to the old Post office ( just down the hill through the park) - which houses the tourist information and has two small galleries - I looked at the Taverns to Temperance exhibition at the small gallery there - and learnt a lot about the many hotels that grew in the area as the gold mining flourished.
A Stimulating Variety of Displays

Thank gailc000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Guest Relations Manager at Bendigo Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and most importantly thank you for visiting both the Bendigo Art Gallery and our satellite space at the Historic Post office to see Tavern to Temperance.

I will definitely pass on your comments.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Edith Head Exhibition is well worth a look. They get some great exhibitions at the Bendigo Art Gallery.

Thank girl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Guest Relations Manager at Bendigo Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for visiting our Edith Head exhibition.

See you next time when you are visiting the Gallery.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

A beautiful building which not only houses an excellent permanent collection but has consistently brought magnificent collections for all over the world. Loved the 200 years of Wedding dresses, Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly and many other displays. Can't wait to get to see the Edith Head costume display which is on currently.

Thank heather693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Guest Relations Manager at Bendigo Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and looking forward to hearing what you have to say about our Edith Head exhibition.

See you next time when you are visiting the Gallery.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We were about ten minutes late for the start of one of the guided tours however the reception staff took us over to where the tour guide was and we were able to join the group. We found the guide very informative and had a great knowledge of the artists and their works. It is such a beautiful place.

Thank BelindaM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Guest Relations Manager at Bendigo Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and glad we could accommodate you with the tour.

See you next time when you are visiting the Gallery.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Highlights of our trip
We love the Edith Head costume designer collection exhibition of Hollywood.
Highly recommended

Thank Lan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Guest Relations Manager at Bendigo Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and saying we are the highlight of you trip.

See you next time.

Kind regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bendigo Art Gallery also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Bendigo Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing