We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
micha_ld952

A Home Away From Home!

Review of Allawah Bendigo
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2019
Having been to Bendigo numerous times for day trips, we decided to stay for a little while longer. Allawah Bendigo totally lived up to our expectations! The room was clean, spacious, tidy, full of all the required amenities, close to all the attractions and there was a wine cellar practically outside our doorstep!
There was adequate linen and towels and both the bathroom and kitchenette were spotless!
It was great having our coffee out on the deck in the mornings,
The hotel staff were cheerful and friendly and were so welcoming!
I can truly say that we will be recommending these accommodations to our family and friends in the future!
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: Our room was south facing which meant the morning sun was a welcoming sight as we drank our...
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Thanks for taking the time to review Allawah. I’m glad you decided to stay and see what Bendigo has to offer and that our accommodation is worth recommending.
I hope we see you back again soon.
Regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$142
  • Vio.com
    AU$131
  • Trip.com
    AU$139
0.4 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
0.3 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$169
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
1.3 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
    AU$185
1.7 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
AU$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
1.6 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$156
  • Agoda.com
    AU$156
  • StayForLong
0.9 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bendigo Haymarket Motor Inn
AU$121
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Agoda.com
    AU$105
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
0.9 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
facade
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$164
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Priceline
    AU$164
3.0 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
1.8 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$163
  • Priceline
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
    AU$157
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
4.8 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
56
49
20
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
49
20
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar view street beautiful heritage building off street parking upstairs room high ceilings within walking distance stay there again a great place to stay rooms are small comfortable bed maisonette bank accommodation gallery heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2019

What a pleasant surprise once we were shown to our room!

Everything was so compact, clean, neat and cosy! Not only was everything in our room working, but the accommodation was quiet at night and we were able to get a great night's sleep after an exhausting day of taking in all the sights!

The bathroom facilities were amazing including a massaging shower head!

We would definitely recommend these accommodations!

Room tip: Definitely try the maisonettes! They're compact and comfortable! And the Wine Bank has an amazing selection of wines!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goog922
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review Allawah. It’s great to read how much you appreciated what we Have to offer and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2019

Great place to stay in Bendigo and right on View Street. Walking distance to the Theatre, Art Gallery and restaurants. The service and accomodation is second to none. Appartments are really comfortable, clean and beautiful to stay in. For friends and guests coming to visit me in Bendigo I always book them in to these rooms and apartments through the Wine Bank as I know they will be extremely well looked after.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review Allawah and recommending us to your friends, we will keep up the good work and hopefully see many of your friends for years to come.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019

lovely rooms, big, king size bed, separate room for kitchen - microwave, kettle, cutlery, mini bar. didnt bother us but never saw anything about rooms being on 4 floors up with no lifts. had a little balcony off the room which was nice too. very convenient location to restaurants, rosalind park, river walk, art gallery, bars, chinese museum - all within 5-10m walk. parking at the back of the apartments.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bahgallahCasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Thanks for reviewing Fountain View suites at Allawah I’m glad you enjoyed your stay.
Next time remember to ask for one of our many ground floor suites or apartments to save you the stairs.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in an upsrairs maisonette...very comfortable. Lovely old world room. Across the road from the gallery and very close to lovely cafes and hotels for food. Lunch at the Wine Bank was delicious.. The owner and staff were wonderful and bent over backwards in helping us enjoy our stay... our second stay here and won't be last...

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 63CaroleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes at Allawah. We take a lot of pride in what we do here and it is really nice to be noticed, look forward to seeing you again when you’re back in town.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

It was a bit difficult to find but we remembered that we had to check in at the Wine Bar at last!
The room was great - lovely old building and everything we needed.
Note there is no lift so if you need a ground floor room ensure you say so. Parking is also quite tight and not as many spaces as rooms.
Great location right in the centre of things.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast in weekends which wasn’t really clear in the room information so caught us out a bit.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2019

Thanks for reviewing Allawah, I’m not sure why you found check in confusing? as you say yourself it states on the confirmation that check in is at 45 View street, you’re not the first to mention it but haven’t thought of how it could be clearer yet, I’ll keep trying.
We 3 rooms on ground floor and 3 on 1st, just us know your preference next time.
The breakfast days and times are shown in the rooms compendium.
I hope we see you back again soon, you know how it all works now.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews