We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carole D
Melbourne, Australia

Great weekend away

Review of Allawah Bendigo
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 June 2019via mobile
We stayed for 2 nights in an upsrairs maisonette...very comfortable. Lovely old world room. Across the road from the gallery and very close to lovely cafes and hotels for food. Lunch at the Wine Bank was delicious.. The owner and staff were wonderful and bent over backwards in helping us enjoy our stay... our second stay here and won't be last...
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review
Responded 1 July 2019
Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes at Allawah. We take a lot of pride in what we do here and it is really nice to be noticed, look forward to seeing you again when you’re back in town.
Regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$152
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$173
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Room (Sleeps 2) This room has a warm and comfortable king bed.
AU$147
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
AU$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
1.6 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
facade
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
1.3 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Bendigo Haymarket Motor Inn
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Algotels
1.8 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Allawah Bendigo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bendigo
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
56
49
20
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
49
20
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar view street beautiful heritage building off street parking upstairs room high ceilings within walking distance stay there again a great place to stay rooms are small comfortable bed maisonette bank accommodation gallery heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

It was a bit difficult to find but we remembered that we had to check in at the Wine Bar at last!
The room was great - lovely old building and everything we needed.
Note there is no lift so if you need a ground floor room ensure you say so. Parking is also quite tight and not as many spaces as rooms.
Great location right in the centre of things.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast in weekends which wasn’t really clear in the room information so caught us out a bit.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2019

Thanks for reviewing Allawah, I’m not sure why you found check in confusing? as you say yourself it states on the confirmation that check in is at 45 View street, you’re not the first to mention it but haven’t thought of how it could be clearer yet, I’ll keep trying.
We 3 rooms on ground floor and 3 on 1st, just us know your preference next time.
The breakfast days and times are shown in the rooms compendium.
I hope we see you back again soon, you know how it all works now.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Maisonettes. The compact heritage rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed was sooo comfortable. This was hotel #5 in our travels. The Allawah is only two minutes from the Art Gallery, Chinese Museum and Gardens. We dined in at the front wine bar (Wine Bank) fabulous food, service and of course huge selection of wines to choose, a favourite with the locals too.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review the Maisonettes at Allawah. I’m glad you enjoyed your Bendigo visit and that you were very comfortable in our accommodation. Look forward to seeing you back again.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

I booked a maisonette and did not realise that it was at the back of the Wine Bank. The maisonette entrance is on a beer garden style where the public can come and have a drink. So if you go there on a Friday it can get very noisy and stops you from having a rest in the afternoon and best to stay away from the accommodation until at least 9pm.
It may be close to the centre but very noisy.

Room tip: It is noisy and not fit for relax and enjoy
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anitamcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Wine Bank,
I think you are being very unfair with your review considering that it is only the ground floor on Friday nights that is affected by the outside dining and you were advised of this and that it would cease at 9 pm.
Please stay with us again, book an upstairs room or at one of our other many central apartments or suites.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

We booked this accommodation on line and we were not disappointed. Check in was at the Wine Bank across the road from the accommodation ‘Fountain View’. Beautiful building which contained 10 luxurious air conditioned, immaculate, well appointed rooms rooms!!
The location was perfect, close to the Bendigo Art Gallery, Tourist Information Centre, great cafes and bars, all within walking distance!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Netti27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Allawah and the Fountain View Suites. We are very proud of our accommodation and it’s nice when our guests comment.
I hope we see you again soon.

Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We wanted accomodation within walking distance to the city centre, This motel was ideal , it is a very small motel, there is limited parking at the rear. It’s a bit hard to find, but you enter through a wine bank and through the back door and up a small staircase. This opens out onto a lovely court yard. The rooms are small but very clean and welcoming. The bed is very comfortable , there is also an ironing board and iron in the room. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. Lovely place breakfast was awesome.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Markjcoffey, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Thanks for taking the time to review Allawah. I hope we see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews