We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
201
43
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
43
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationbeautiful hoteltrain noisehuge bedroommaster suiterenovated hotelhigh ceilingsspa bathnext morningsecure parkingour room was spaciousold buildingenjoyed our staylydiard streetdefinitely stay here againmini barnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful old hotel and a beautiful room. We visited with our kids and the 2 bedroom was very spacious with ensuite (master) and large second (disabled access) bathroom. Very basic kitchenette (no microwave).
Beautifully decorated rooms with amazing styles and lighting.
Very comfortable and warm.
Bring your slippers for the morning (no heating in the bathroom and tiles get cold).
Basic tea making facilities and mini bar. No herbal tea if that takes your fancy.
Hair dryer quite low power so bring your own hair dryer if need.
We were facing the train station but didn’t find it noisy (suspect double glazed windows).

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We were not told prior to our arrival that the reception was not open after hours so when we arrived after driving all day it was a shock to see notes taped to the front doors that it was closed for renovations. I was about to call Expedia who we made the booking through to find out what was going on, when I found a message with late checkin info from Provincial. Unfortunately the late check in key drop did not work for us so we had to call for assistance. Cold and tired - this was not a good start to our stay. Then to find that the restaurant and bar were closed for renovations was not good news as we choose this accommodation so that we did not have to go out into the cold night air.
Room, bed and shower are comfortable but the tea/coffee facilities are sorely lacking especially as the bar/restaurant is not functioning. No mugs, two cups, one spoon, no coffee machine or plunger, Lipton’s tea only.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Manager at The Provincial Ballarat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hello Sue,
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Provincial Ballarat and providing feedback. We would like to apologise about the late notice of the renovations and your after hours check in information. This is not how we usually operate and apologise for the inconvenience. We are currently undergoing renovations in our restaurant but will be open again later on in the year with an exciting new concept. We will be updating the hotel also, including all amenities and producing a higher standard of quality in the rooms and customer service. Thank you for all your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Provincial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We stayed here recently. The room was evidently the smallest one in the hotel but it was very large by most standards. The queen bed was very comfortable and there was a sitting area too. The bathroom was large and had a good shower. The place has recently been well renovated. It has a lovely large staircase going up to the bedrooms. All the fittings are very good quality. There is a fridge and tea and coffee in the rooms too. It was really comfortable and we will certainly stay here when we are next in Ballarat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed in one of the back rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rozz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

My recent stay at The Provincial Ballarat exceeded expectations. I took my time to choose the perfect place to stay on my holiday in Ballarat, and chose The Provincial based on fair pricing, location & the look of the motel. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised, with friendly, helpful staff, which these days is rare, I was already a fan of this hotel. But the room was so warm (in a very cold Ballarat), very very clean & a comfortable bed, I was taken. A highly recommend stay!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank leisaurquhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

The Provincial Hotel is anything but provincial!

This is the most beautiful, classy, comfortable, welcoming-and-yet-grand-old-hotel ever! Stayed off season (May) so the rate was good, and there were only a couple other guests staying at the same time. The room was the most beautiful and tastefully appointed room (and it wasn't even a premier room, others had corner fireplaces, etc.) Stay here if you are ever in Ballarat. It is located conveniently in the center of things; no attraction will be more than 10 minutes away. (To be fair, nothing is more than ten minutes away in Ballarat :-). The staff were lovely and parking is secure and right behind the hotel. WiFi worked fine. A beautiful sofa to watch TV was nice (but the TV was a bit small to watch all the way from the bed) The bed linens were premium, and the mattress was magic. Slept for nearly 9 hours...Can't say enough about this place. Oh -- One thing...the gorgeous old staircase is a bit of a bumpy ride if you have a lot of luggage. I cannot recall if there is a lift in this hotel. But I promise...it's worth it! See the little rest area at the top of the stairs with historic old photos of the hotel in its youth :-) See Pics!

Room Tip: Be prepared to be pampered! Some corner suites have fireplaces I hear.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews