We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and old but good location”
Review of Mid City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mid City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Two night weekend stay in Ballarat for a local beer festival. Mid City Hotel is a classic basic motel complex with not much to offer other than a good, accessible location in central Ballarat, which is easy walking distance from the main city centre shopping and dining district. The room was small and suck in 1960s/70s fashion. The bed wasn't too comfortable and the services were very limited. The TV reception in our room was terrible. We didn't have any problems during our stay there, but had hoped for a little more given the price paid. It would be ok it you just need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: A ground level room is always better in a motel complex like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJDs_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good room size,average fittings, poor sound insulation. This is definitely not a 4 star motel.
There was some confusion over our booking - they had us down for the following night but the paperwork from lastminute.com had the correct date. Thankfully I had the paperwork with me. On departure they mistakenly looked up the room next door and tried to charge for 2 nights and breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is your standard ordinary motel. The rooms are fairly clean, but rather dark with old furnishings. Good-sized parking area, if that is a consideration. Breakfast was adequate, and hotel staff service was ok. Nothing exceptional; a 2-star property.

Location though is excellent if you want to be near shops and restaurants. Even when our conference adjourned late, there would always be an open place to eat within walking distance, which is an advantage in smaller Aussie towns. It is this average motel's location which is its redeeming feature.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This motel is very well postioned for what we required, and apart from our first room stiinking of smoke (a non smoking room), the value of the 'breakfast package' was good.
However, this motel rates itself at 4 out of 5 on the wotif.com.au website and this is quite unreasonable. The two rooms we used were of a 2 or 2.5 star standard. This is not to say that they were unacceptable, as they were clean and served our purpose, but they are dated and worn.
It is a pity that properties like this one mislead us with inaccurate ratings and also advertised a heated pool, which was far too cold to use.
It is also imperative that properties ensure rooms are absolutely non smoking.

Room Tip: Should be 2 stars. Needs freshening up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HLT-Heyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We booked family rooms even though we were just couples. It came with a continental breakfast deal.

The rooms were a good size for us as a couple, but maybe a little tight with two children and quite dated but in a quaint cosy kind of way. Ballarat was freezing cold but the heating in the room was excellent. There was a shower over a rather shallow bath with a fixed screen at the side, which may be a little awkward if you were trying to bath slippery babies or toddlers.

We were upstairs and the noise of people walking past our room was quite loud, but the traffic walking past died down early enough.

We struggled to get the TV working properly and we didn't go searching for instructions.

Due to renovations, the breakfast did not include danish pastries or croisants as advertised and the service wasn't the best, but we were kindly compensated with a cooked breakfast.

The receptionist who checked us in and the one who checked us out were both very professional and helpful. Their professionalism created more of a four star feel to our experience. On checking out, before serving us, there was a rather aggresive woman complaining about the breakfast, but I thought the receptionist handled her complaint with poise and dipomacy.

This property is a good choice for the budget traveller who wants a bit of quality. The bed was OK and the shower OK. Bring your own hairdryer because the one in the bathroom makes a lot of noise but not enough power.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatherineTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
1.1 km away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lake Inn Ballarat
Lake Inn Ballarat
#13 of 34 in Ballarat
118 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ansonia on Lydiard
The Ansonia on Lydiard
#23 of 34 in Ballarat
131 reviews
2.5 km away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ballarat
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Ballarat

Been to Mid City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Hotel

Address: 19 Doveton St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $123 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mid City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1971, the Mid City Ballarat offers rooms with LCD TVs, free WiFi, free newspapers and access to free on-site parking in an off-street, secure area with video surveillance. For your relaxation and enjoyment there is an outdoor pool and a restaurant. Mid City Ballarat is within a 10-minute walk from Ballarat Train Station, Art Gallery of Ballarat, Her Majesty's Ballarat and a range of clubs, shops and cafes. Sovereign Hill and Lake Wendouree are both a 5-minute drive away while Kryal Castle is a 14-minute drive away. The air-conditioned accommodation options include private rooms, suites and apartments. Each has a refrigerator, bed linen and a private bathroom with a shower. Self-contained apartments with a fully equipped kitchen are available. The new restaurant "Aureate" is fast becoming the place to eat for both traveling epicureans and those locals who prefer to dine rather than just eat. Our amazingly well credentialed chef's bring modern European style dishes, with a lean toward seafood to Ballarat, and they do so extremely well. With a every growing international wine list and an friendly, efficient service team Aureate Restaurant is looking golden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mid City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mid City Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing