We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
200
147
43
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
147
43
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hotelformer conventcataract gorgemanager jamescommunal balconylovely old buildingboutique hotelguest loungeexecutive suitemini barspa roomcity view roomtop floorgreat bathroomsitting roommod consmodern rooms
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This 'boutique' hotel was a very pleasant base for our 2 day stay in Launceston.
The room (there are only 18) was very large, light and bright with high ceilings, and fitted with quality furniture and a very comfortable bed. Huge bathroom with capacious tub and great hot shower.
We were on the third floor which is accessed by either a lift, or - if you wanted to move between floors in a timely manner - by a lovely internal staircase.
There were views across the valley and city, and a balcony to take in the view, although this was shared between rooms.
No dining room (that I was aware of anyway) but you can order breakfast. We tend to eat out so was of no consequence to us.
Free fast wifi, free parking, perfect location. This hotel was the standout on our 10 day Tasmania break.
Highly recommended for couples seeking quiet quality accommodation.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AussieIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We spent 2 nights at the Auldington as part of a package deal from Virgin Australia Airlines. Such a pleasant surprise, the hotel is extremely well appointed with an amazing shared set of balconies, a comfortable lounge, and the rooms, just nice. The bathroom is extremely modern, the shower was a religious experience, staff were very friendly and helpful in finding great places for us to eat nearby.
The hotel was once a convent, converted to a hotel about 10 years ago.
We have been on vacation in Melbourne and wanted to try out an off the beaten path place, Launceston is that place. A fabulous little city full of historical architecture, a wonderful walkable downtown, and restaurants with some of the best food in the world. Many people do a multi city driving tour around the island of Tasmania, next time we will throw caution to the wind and try the adventure of driving on the other side of the road for a real Australian adventure.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumblebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a one night stop over to start our round TAS road trip. I chose Auldington as a cheap brief one night stop seeing it as less risk. But it really was a fantastic boutique style choice and really affordable. We had a 2bedroom. The main bed was comfortable but the pullout couch was not the most comfortable for the kids but ok for short stay. The shared bathroom was a reasonably modern fit out. All was clean and fresh but overall value for money and a piece of history to boot.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Del C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with four kids. Plenty of space in the 2 room executive suite. Only downside was kids had to come through our room to use the toilet in the middle of the night. James at reception was very helpful.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Maeve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This place is so underrated! Amazing boutique hotel near the centre of Launceston. Beautiful rooms, amazing bathrooms and comfy beds...not to mention a well stocked mini bar! Gorgeous views of the city and cathedrals! Extremely quiet rooms in a historic setting. Highly recommended for a business or leisure stay, especially if you've had enough you of the chain hotels! LOVE! Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Joey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews