We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$208
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
CraigMichaelt
Sydney, Australia

Ideal for my needs

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024
In town for one night for business. The Sebel is well located, has a good restaurant for dinner and breakfast and good coffee. I have stayed there a number of times and, although I didn't need it, I was upgraded to a larger room as recognition of my frequent custom. Good value for money
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayne Spicer, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review
Responded 24 Mar 2024
Thank you Craig, for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Jayne Spicer
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
DSC
Tripadvisor
AU$146
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bedroom Living
Tripadvisor
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$244
  • Algotels
0.7 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$121
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$221
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
0.3 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$222
  • Expedia.com
    AU$230
6.2 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • all.accor.com
    AU$179
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$174
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$97
  • Priceline
3.4 km from The Sebel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
573
436
95
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
573
436
95
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate bedroom car park room service cataract gorge hotel restaurant small balcony per night overland track city centre first floor laundry facilities great place to stay would stay again spacious room bluestone parking kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2024

Very average for the price, not good value for money.
Clean enough.
Cheap couch very ordinary, not comfortable.
Bed ok
No complimentary water, or mini bar fridge available.
No Smoking on balcony, only 1 designated area on ground floor.
There are better options in Launceston.
I won't be staying here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank krnshnd585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful reception staff who understood the purpose of my trip and took an interest in my needs. The sitting room was larger and more comfortable than normal, allowing plenty of room to spread out, re-organise pack and feel relaxed. There were windows for plenty of natural light. The bathroom was clean and had a large bath also, much appreciated at the end of a long hike. The restaurant staff were friendly and the food was delicious. All up, a really good stay.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayne Spicer, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thank you Naomi, for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us, I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. Thank you again for such a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back another time!

Kind Regards
Jayne Spicer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very clean and inviting. Reception staff friendly, professional and very helpful. Rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, local produce and cooked to perfection. Highly recommend this hotel for your next launceston stopover.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank T9476SPjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayne Spicer, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time, I will share your feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Jayne Spicer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

This well-run hotel is, based on two stays, a dependable establishment with friendly helpful staff. Its in-building restaurant, Bluestone, serves excellent traditional breakfasts that one anticipates with alacrity! Rooms are always spotlessly clean. And no shortage of towels on request, tho of course in eco-era one tries to limit how many. I definitely would stay again. Thank you to all staff.

Room tip: Not necessary as dependable
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023

We only stayed one night, room was spacious with separate bedroom. At that day the weather was stormy & windy, so we had or dinner at the restaurant. the menu are Thai meals, I was expected there was a hot soup or pasta. Breakfast menu was very good. We'd love to come back to this hotel. Staff very friendly & helpful.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msgt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews