We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be confused”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Place City View Apartments
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't be confused”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Spent 3 nights in late February. Travelling with a couple of friends on a road trip around Tasmania.My partner booked the hotel thinking it was part of the Adina apartment group of hotels which we have previously used and know the quality we expect. It is not part of that hotel group. It is Adina Place! It is described Adina Place City Views which also gives you the expectation that is what you will get "city views". Not necessarily!

We booked both rooms a month before through booking.com at the same price. When we got there it was obvious that the bottom level had no views except of the guest car park. Immediately I was concerned..

Reception girl was very pleasant but gave us the unfortunate news that one of our rooms had indeed been booked on the ground level and the other on the second level in a delux room. We had booked 3 nights and could do nothing about it as the complex fully booked. Firstly without looking at the rooms why would they split a double booking and once I had seen the comparison of the two rooms how could these two different types of accommodation cost the same tariff per night?

We took the ground level accommodation after a toss of a coin. The room very small and compact. It had the basics. The bathroom adequate but everything dated and in need of renovation. The bedding was clean and comfortable. Our car grill was less than 6 feet from the glass sliding front porch door. On this small slab of concrete a table and 2 chairs where you could sit and admire the guest car park. The constant noise of cars and motorbikes arriving and leaving and people walking through to reception meant that our door was closed curtains drawn and aircon put on just to get some privacy and peace. However now I felt I was in a cave. We had a back door which opened up to another communal area. A BBQ area with tables and chairs and smoking boxes here and there for the smokers! This room would be ok if you were a single traveller who has no intention of being in the room except for sleeping and bathing and who probably is a smoker and may like to cook a BBQ in the evening.

We let reception know how we felt about our accommodation and to their credit they were trying their best to see if they could move us. Meanwhile our friends accommodation in comparison on the second level was a bigger spacious room with fabulous views overlooking Launceston. The outlook, the balcony which you could enjoy with privacy was well worth the tariff.

Management later that night informed us that a room would be available the following morning on level one. This room had the view and outlook slightly smaller configuration to our friends accomodation but it was comparable to our expectations when we booked. Overall a good outcome in a situation which we should not have experienced.

Room Tip: Book a room on higher floors for views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmeg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    82
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
60
74
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

On the plus side,this place is very convenient to the city centre,and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The steep uphill climb to get back should burn a few calories from dinner! Our second floor room was spacious with excellent views over the city.
The reception staff were pleasant.
But there,alas,the postives end. The whole property is very tired and in urgent need of an update. The only elevator is creaky and slow.Our room was depressing,with stains on carpet and furniture,and cracked tiles.The two upholstered chairs felt greasy,and we were reluctant to use them.
The bathroom was clean,though aged and rusty fittings and ancient grout did not impress.There is no heating in the bathroom. Fine in February,but I would think more than a bit bracing in a Tasmanian winter. The towels were thin and an unpleasant shade of brown.
The rooms are not serviced on Sundays or holidays,and done haphazardly when they do bother to come.A request for fresh towels on Sunday was granted,somewhat relustantly.
We could not recommend this hotel,and would not use it again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

If you need somewhere to stay close to the city, and won't be spending much time in the room, this is perfect. Clean and with the basics you will need for a few nights stay, also great views over the CBD.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Recently spent 5 nights with Kellie and her team while family member in Hospital. Can't speak highly enough of the friendly and accommodating attitude of all at Adina. Nothing was a problem.
Our 2 B/R Apartment was absolutely spotless and very comfortable .
The close proximity to city centre also made our stay so much easier and the views are an added bonus.

Thoroughly recommend

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Adina Motel Apartments is located quite centrally. City Park is a short walk, but an uphill return. Supermarkets, restaurants and cafes are nearby but they too require a steep return journey.
The apartments are quiet and the staff very friendly. Any issues were attended to immediately.
We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which included cooking facilities and a small bar fridge. A double in one room, a single and set of bunk beds in the other. The top bunk doesn't have a rail, which would be more of a worry with younger children.
What lets the place down is that it needs a re-furb. The bathrooms need particular attention. Every day beds are made and clean towels provided. Full-service housekeeping is only done every 5 days for those staying longer. More often would make a enormous difference, particularly given its central location. The bathroom would be greatly improved.
Plenty of car parks, but can be a bit tricky to manoeurve in and out of when full.
Rooms are accessed via stairs or a lift. Our room had a balcony which had great views over Launceston.

Room Tip: Call ahead if looking for a family room and staff will do their best to allocate the most suitable r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famof5Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
1.2 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
877 reviews
0.7 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Place City View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Place City View Apartments

Property: Adina Place City View Apartments
Address: 50 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price range (per night): $94 - $166
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adina Place City View Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Place City View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Place City View Apartments Hotel Launceston
Adina Place City View Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing