We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, service and food”

Cataract On Paterson
Ranked #12 of 477 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$12 - AU$110
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Thank you for considering to dine at Cataract on Paterson. Our emphasis is to highlight Tasmanian food products, produce superior flavour and offer our guests sincere value. We proudly supports Tasmanian farmers, sourcing our beef and lamb from the rich pastures of the North & Northwest; oysters & fresh seafood from the East Coast & free range chicken & local fresh produce from a variety of farm gates. We are home to the Stonegrill dining experience! Stonegrill is a new, exciting & unique interactive dining experience that presents your meal cooking on a 400°C volcanic stone at your table. The unique method & high temperature, sears in all the natural juices & nutrients, enhancing the full flavours & tenderness of your meal. Stonegrill is internationally recognised as one of the healthiest methods of cooking, as all produce is completely trimmed of fats & no added oils are used. Your meal will remain hot & enjoyable, allowing you to dine at leisure, with every bite as hot & delicious as the first as the stone remains very hot for approx. 35 minutes & hot for over an hour.We are open for dinner 7 nights per week from 5.00pm until late and lunch Thursday to Sunday from 12 noon. Reservations are highly encouraged.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Went here with a small group of friends on a Friday night, had a great atmosphere as it was great to see it busy and full of guests. Our waiters were very good and the food and drinks came out at a good time. All our food was great, definitely one of the best parmis I've ever had. The share pizza dessert was great, but make sure you order in advance as I think they have limited amount each night of those. The cata - shake cocktails were also a hit with us. Was a great price for the quality food served. Definitely be returning!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 640 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had dinner here last night with a group of 20 in the private dining room to celebrate my sons 18th birthday, all the meals were beautifully presented, excellent flavour and good servings. All the meals arrived together, which is amazing as the restaurant was full and that is why we booked the private room. We were looked after so well by a really lovely and helpful waiter Sean. Sincere thanks to Sean and to all the staff and kitchen for looking after us so well. This is our 4th dinner at Cataract on Patterson in the last two months we keep returning as food and service is always above what is received elsewhere. No wonder this restaurant receives so many awards, would recommend to anyone, never disappointed. Many thanks to all the friendly and lovely staff.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I was looking for a place to have dinner to celebrate 39 years of marriage. "Cataract on Prospect" was one of four venues suggested by associates who are locals of the town.

Internet pictures of the restaurant were inviting and a table was booked.

Upon arrival, our first challenge was to navigate past a group of people clustered around the bar area at the entrance to a point where we could be greeted and seated by a staff member. Unfortunately the table booked appeared not to be immediately available so we were asked to wait. There was nowhere to sit, so we had to stand. About ten minutes later we were received and seated at a very small table against a wall.

The service was good, and the food was appetising; it was all spoilt by the perpetual raging hub-bub of voices almost shouting against each other in a crowded floor area populated by too many tables and chairs and guests seated to capacity. It was certainly not conducive to an intimate anniversary dinner.

we paid $36 for a small eye fillet steak with a couple of spoonfuls of roast potatoes , a sprig of broccoli, six slithers of chopped cucumber and a slice of some other greenstuff. The small eye fillet was $38 with chips and salad.A lemon lime and bitters was $5 and the onion soup cost $12 .

We would have stayed for desert and coffee, but the noise level drove us out.

Whilst the service and food were to a very good standard , there was no doubt that the staff were under the hammer , and this strain was beginning to seap through with those that attended us.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 275IanM275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Travelling to Launceston and booked the table in advance. Service standard is good but minor defects in related to the proactiveness.

However, the kitchen service have to improve since we have been waiting for too long from appetizer to dessert.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Tequliapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

8.30pm on a Monday night and the place was impressively busy with a predominantly young crowd and young staff. Despite this, the service was still pretty quick and friendly. The dessert menu has a good selection but we had come for the pan-ookie - a MARS [bar] inspired chocolate chip cookie topped with chocolate icecream, caramel sauce, choc crumb and Mars bar pieces. The dish the cookie is cooked and served in was on the small side, but overall the dish was definitely worth the $16. It met all expectations!

The crème brûlée was also very tasty (menu says $15 but we were charged $16) but lacked the good crack of the hard caramel.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank doherty_kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cataract On Paterson also viewed

 

Been to Cataract On Paterson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.