We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal”

Cataract On Paterson
Ranked #12 of 477 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$12 - AU$110
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Thank you for considering to dine at Cataract on Paterson. Our emphasis is to highlight Tasmanian food products, produce superior flavour and offer our guests sincere value. We proudly supports Tasmanian farmers, sourcing our beef and lamb from the rich pastures of the North & Northwest; oysters & fresh seafood from the East Coast & free range chicken & local fresh produce from a variety of farm gates. We are home to the Stonegrill dining experience! Stonegrill is a new, exciting & unique interactive dining experience that presents your meal cooking on a 400°C volcanic stone at your table. The unique method & high temperature, sears in all the natural juices & nutrients, enhancing the full flavours & tenderness of your meal. Stonegrill is internationally recognised as one of the healthiest methods of cooking, as all produce is completely trimmed of fats & no added oils are used. Your meal will remain hot & enjoyable, allowing you to dine at leisure, with every bite as hot & delicious as the first as the stone remains very hot for approx. 35 minutes & hot for over an hour.We are open for dinner 7 nights per week from 5.00pm until late and lunch Thursday to Sunday from 12 noon. Reservations are highly encouraged.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We have been here on numerous occasions and can never fault the food or the service. The place is quite noisy so if you are looking for something intimate look else where . Will be back again in the near future . Well done !

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank CarolM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 673 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016

We went there for a birthday dinner and had a great time. It was so busy for a Tuesday night....obviously the word is out.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 672LukeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The statement reads on the menu their seafood platter is rumoured to be the best it is no rumour it is the best!! The platter for 2 was more than enough & regrettably couldn't quite finish it everything cooked to perfection with a good choice of seafood friend had steak hot rock & was very satisfied the staff gave great service & when asked about the menu could explain what it entailed. top place to dine

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank bucketlist60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Attended a wedding here. Fabulous friendly staff. Great food, drinks & atmosphere. What a wonderful convenient location also. Will definitely recommend this place to future brides & groom, family & friends.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lawanna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

From the minute we walked thru the door the experince began. Greeted like old friends, friendly happy to oblige staff who knew their menu well. Food was cooked to perfection. Thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Tessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cataract On Paterson also viewed

 

Been to Cataract On Paterson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.