We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
84
80
26
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
80
26
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooked breakfastnice sheetspickled eveningsgreat indian restaurantcentre of towntim tamssteep drivebreakfast roomfollowing morningfree onsitelittle extrasstaff were welcomingground floornice breakfastbig bathroomwithin walking distancelocation is fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

This is more hotel than b&b. We stayed in one of the suites...room 4, which was large and spacious. There was a hot breakfast option of bacon and eggs alongside cereal and toast. The beds were comfy, shower powerful, and beautifully clean.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Garden_Design_By_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, hot cooked breakfast, frig in the room, views over the city from our spacious second floor unit, well fluffed pillows, and private entrance. Location was good. Colors in the room and furnishings were tasteful. Breakfast staff was efficient and accommodating. Missed the warmth of early evening reception and the attention from the host. That's what I think of from a bed & breakfast establishment and why we seek smaller intimate B&Bs.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Feenixwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Ok the bed was clean and comfortable. That's the end of the positives.
We arrived to find the key in an envelope with a terse note explaining the regulations and the fines for not complying. No welcome note.

Found the room, the carpets were dirty and stained. The furniture was cheap and in some cases warped. Everything was dusty. There was mould and grime in the shower.

This room didn't look anything like their advertising pictures. We couldn't bring ourselves to try breakfast so can't comment on that.

I used to stay here regularly some years ago, when it was friendly and clean. Must be new owners.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Owner at Hideaway on George, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Good morning Julie,

First of all, we are extremely sorry on behalf of the old owners, that you experienced such service and that the property was in such a poor state when you chose to stay.

Second of all, you may be happy to know Fiona's on George changed hands in July 2017 and we are now Hideaway on George, run by Clare & Bart. All of our staff have been complimented repeatedly on our great customer service, and we have finished renovations on our Townhouses in the last 6 months, with the standard rooms next in line for a re-vamp.

The check in process has now been streamlined with code entry, allowing for seamless after hours entry. This is complimented by a personal text message with your check in details, and an after hours number if you have any enquiries at all. If you choose to arrive between 2 and 6pm, you will be personally greeted and Mel, Ebony, Regina or myself will be more than happy to offer our personal expertise on the area.

I hope next time you choose to stay in Launceston you will consider staying at Hideaway on George, so you too can experience the difference.

Kind regards,

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Arrived at Fiona's at 5.15, reception was closed and keys were left in envelope outside reception. We unlocked the room to find the room had not been cleaned, bed was in disarray and left the way the previous occupants left it, rubbish, strong smell of vomit, wine glasses in bathroom, splatters of something on the mirror!We contacted the owner to report the condition of the room, when he finally arrived he was rude and abrupt and even asked us if the rubbish in the room was ours! The house keeping started refolding the facewashers in the bathroom! She then asked if we were staying and she would continue to clean the room!! After the abrupt rudeness and watching facewashers recycled in front of our eyes we declined and asked for a refund only to be told by the owner "you won't find anywhere else to stay, the whole of Launceston is booked out!" .... so we took our chances, took our refund and booked into another motel up the road!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tassiedevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare F, Manager at Hideaway on George, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi tassiedevil69,

We are so sorry to hear that you had such an experience and that not only did you receive such poor hospitality, but were threatened with homelessness when asking for a refund, instead of having your issues addressed.

In July 2017, my partner Bart and I took over this property; rebranding it Hideaway on George to reflect the change of ownership. We are now a family run operation who are working extremely hard to ensure the best quality rooms & service possible. We have renovated several rooms, with more ahead of us and have received nothing but praise for our entire team here.

We are so very glad you were able to get into a motel up the road and enjoy the rest of your stay in Feb 2017. We hope that you will consider us an option next time you choose to stay in Launceston. We'd love for you to be able to experience the difference :)

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Good sized town house with everything you need even for a longer stay.
Lovely quiet and secluded garden area for an afternoon glass of wine.
There is a yummy Indian restaurant right next door, and other restaurants in walking distance.
Breakfast was divine!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews