We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
86
182
120
58
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
182
120
58
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity parktitanium barrenovated roomshort stayreception staffcomfortable bedpleasant staycataract gorgebistrofootyminibarshampoofi
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

If you want a clean, well appointed basic room, Hotel Launceston is great value. Location is excellent. Rooms are located in quiet area. No exorbitant deposit requirements of similar local establishments. Reception was well staffed and helpful. Pedestrian access is difficult because of steep terrain and lighting above access area to our building was not working which made it quite dangerous for our night time arrival as there was a steep step to negotiate.

Room Tip: Hotel Launceston rooms will generally be quieter than Mercure rooms which are at front for the view of the park.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmorr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessDevMngr, Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. It's good to hear that you appreciate the great value for money that our Hotel Launceston rooms offer. Thanks also for your feedback regarding the lighting in the access area to the building, this has been passed to our Maintenance Manager for investigation and has now been fixed. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

The hotel is close to the CBD shops and across the road from a great park. It was a bit noisy at times with traffic. The room was very small especially the bathroom. The staff were very helpful. Parking was available.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HappyClermontQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessDevMngr, Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and appreciated the free on-site parking.
Our 3 star rooms are well maintained and at the better end of 3 star comparable hotels, with the additional benefits of being within the same property as a 4 star hotel (Mercure Launceston), such as the use of our restaurant, Titanium Bar and Bistro. Thanks for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Value for money. Comfortable bed.
A bit noisy due to other hotel guests on the corridor but not the hotel's fault. They piped down at 10pm.
Across the road from City Park which is very restful.
Easy walking distance to all the attractions. we even walked to Cataract Gorge and back one day.
Ask staff about quiet internal rooms. Back rooms with open space around carpark good for parking car / access to car but are in open corridors - so can hear people walking up/ down the corridor. But no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask about the difference in price and location of internal vs back rooms
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cassie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessDevMngr, Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the value for money that Hotel Launceston accommodation offers, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. Thanks for your commentary regarding room positioning at the property. It's good to know that you took advantage of our location across the road from the lovely City Park, and took a walk to Cataract Gorge which is relatively close for such an outstanding natural place! We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our booking was with Mercure Launceston BUT we were allotted Hotel Launceston .... a poorer relation. The check in staff at the Mecure Reception were friendly and helpful. However the Hotel Launceston was somewhat of a disappointment. First of all access is via stairs ..... even though the lift from the Mercure takes you close by. You will always have to negotiate stairs. The rooms are clean .... but very old and tired. There was a notice saying the hotel is to be updated but no completion date. We stayed here twice ... one night at the beginning of our trip and two nights at the end. It's OK for an overnight stay but don't plan on using it as a base. The rooms are cramped and if you choose to sit outside you'll find yourself in a walk way.

Room Tip: They all have stairs to access rooms ,.... the car park is very steep so try and park at the back .... less stairs to negotiate.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TJandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessDevMngr, Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and use the opportunity to assess our operations and continuous improvement. I am extremely sorry for your disappointing experience with us.
We never allocate a Mercure Launceston booking to a Hotel Launceston room (unless of course it's by prior arrangement with the guest under very rare and exceptional occasions which we are the guest are aware of). I have tried to identify your reservation, in order to investigate the source of your booking and address any errors which may have caused this to happen. The Hotel Launceston 3 star rooms are well maintained, comfortable and at the better end of 3 star comparable hotels with the additional benefits of being within a 4 star hotel such as the use of Titanium Bar and Bistro.
For guests unable to comfortably navigate the two steps inside the door at the front entrance, our Reception staff can assist. The other option is our disabled entrance, at the rear of the front building, which has a ramp and lift access, therefore eliminating the need to use steps for entering and leaving the front building. If a guest ability necessitates no stairs whatsoever we would, or should have, addressed this had it been brought to our attention. Again, I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Door in the room looked like someone had tried to pry it open with a crowbar. If i were in the U.S. I would have asked for a different room. Minibar is full but expensive -- don't use anything! If you want an airport shuttle, book well ahead of time. I asked the night before and couldn't get one. A/C works okay, and shower is adequate. In short, if you can find something else in that price range, I would do it. Not that great.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank 19Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessDevMngr, Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I note your comments regarding the door to the room, and will have this investigated, as we are concerned with keeping the maintenance of the facilities to a high standard. I'm sorry that you weren't able to secure a seat on the airport shuttle bus at this peak time of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews