We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still with great service!”
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still with great service!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Back for the second time and yes, nothing has changed. The staff are still friendly! The rooms are still the same and the cost is still very reasonable. The cafe still has good value meals and with friendly staff. A negative is, after booking a table in the restaurant when we went down the cafe wasn't open and we had to sit in the bar area. Even though it has the same great staff and menu, we were disappointed that we were in the bar and not in the cafe. After finishing our meal and speaking to the waitress, we were told that if we had asked we could have sat in the cafe. A little too late by then!
If you want to watch Austar and pay movies they are not available. They have changed to all HD channels. This didn't bother us, as we are not great TV watchers. But my husband lost count on the available TV channels. A bonus is that they are all free.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 15grandview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    173
    111
    56
    37
See reviews for
60
184
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After researching on Tripadvisor for a couple of hotels in Launceston, I decided on Sandors'. Thank goodness, I was not disappointed.

Notwithstanding the fact that Sandors' is a slightly older and dated hotel, everything was in good working condition. The decor may be stuck in the 80s, but the room is spick and span. My partner and I were quite happy with it. We had a room facing the park and it was a pleasant view in the morning. The rooms at the back (and in the other building) faces the car park. The hotel was also within walking distance to the main strip where we could do our shopping or find food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Simply a top value motel in a good location.

All a little dated but extremely comfortable. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed on both the first and last nights of our Tassy trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doody045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

stayed one night at Mercure ( friends had booked for us all) and problem with aircon on only two floors so rebooked rooms upstairs.. decided to come to Sandors for a night as I have stayed here before( staying third night now). Very glad as the room fairly sparkled it was so clean. Yes it is an older hotel but everything is in great working order and good location. Friendly and helpful staff, prompt room service and tasty food reasonably priced. Privacy, comfort, cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0iM0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

A good location and convenient to all amenities in the city. Pleasant staff who were very eager to please - the rooms are small, clean but dated. The downside was that on the morning of departure there was no hot water for a shower or any other purpose in the room - no apology when reported and no offer of a solution except that it must be a 'fuse'!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.0 km away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#24 of 30 in Launceston
33 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.6 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 km away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#18 of 30 in Launceston
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Property: Hotel Launceston
Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): $87 - $245
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, ACCOR, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing