We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable place in an excellent location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
The beautiful City Park is just across the road Downstairs bathroom with claw foot bath and shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
The beautiful City Park is just across the road
Downstairs bathroom with claw foot bath and shower
Fully equipped kitchen
Family/ dining room open plan to kitchen, includes TV
Formal Living room with DVD and TV
Formal living alternate view
'Taffies Room' - queen bed
'Remy's room- double bed
'Chloes Room'- single bed
'Ellie's Room' - double bed
Upstairs bathroom- large shower
Study
Rear View, great casual seating area and cottage garden
Girls' weekends away packages-We welcome enquiries to quote a package for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alison J
1 review
“Very comfortable place in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very comfortable place in an excellent location. Great communication with the host who was lovely to deal with. Thanks!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you stay and we agree, the location is pretty special - glad you enjoyed your stay!
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great locoation, fantastic house”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

2nd time I've stayed here, this is a wonderful house, great character and is fantastically located. Would recommend any of my friends to stay in this great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Hi Paul,
Thanks so much for your review, it's great to get feedback that the 2nd visit is as good as the first!
it's always a pleasure to welcome guests back for repeat visits. and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Bron Bishop
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jengar11
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ellie's place allowed for us to step back in time to the 1800's whilst enjoying the modern conviences of 2015. Bron was an excellent host- arrived soon after our arrival pre-arranged to collect the full payment. Ellie's only allowed for cash transaction of deposit by EFT. We also ordered delivery of groceries from online grocery chain which worked out quite well. We were travelling from mainland Australia in the later evening. Ellie's place was an old world experience which was quite delightful. One drawback for those travelling with small children Ellie's has lots of collectables which were quite attractive to our young grandchildren. We had to place items of interest in higher places,although in saying that some doors could be closed for peace of mind. . Stairs and height of beds could pose a problem for both the young and old, there was a stair barrier provided for the little ones. The home is located across the road from City Park which was a wonderful added bonus for us. Ellie's is very clean and suited well for two families. We were able to do some lovely day trips to Bridport- great walk on the beach! Anvers Chocolates which provided full view of chocolate making for free! The Gorge lovely walks and the peacocks really were making their presence felt. Penguin evening at Low Head and much more. We enjoyed Tassie Sea Scallops as fresh as you could get. Hallams restaurant also lived up to Bron's recommendation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: conviently located, large bathrooms although showers were quite small.
Liked least: beds were quite high off the ground- for small children and elderly but in keeping with period of home. Steps for elderly could pose a problem as very narrow.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ellies Place and in Launceston. Ellies is perfect for many different kinds of guests, from couples wanting a special weekend away to groups and families looking to spend special time together. We have worked to make Ellies into a special home and all the little touches are what many people say make it unique. We understand that sometimes this may be a temptation to little ones, but we find that our wonderful guests treat the house as they would that of a friend. (We are quite happy for guests to move things out of temptation if necessary) Thanks so much for leaving Ellie's in such wonderful condition- it was a credit to you and your grandchildren! Having brought my own children up in the house I know how much young families enjoy the location and as with any house with stairs commonsense should prevail. In regard to older guests, we have had many spritely 70+ year-olds stay, however we always do recommend that if in doubt as to negotiating stairs that perhaps our other lovely property, Twyford, may be an alternative option. In regard to payment options, credit card payment in full is also available for guests however as agreed upon booking your special Winter rate deal it was not available under this option. I loved your idea about pre-ordering the groceries and will certainly be suggesting this to guests as a great option. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day at Ellies or even Twyford! Kind regards Bron and Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
145mark00...
Dubbo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Ellie's with our family. It is a wonderful place, full of warmth and charm. It is spotlessly clean and has everything a family could possibly need. Good internet was a hit with our children. Perfect location and Bronwyn is very easy to work with when booking. We will stay here again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
It is always lovely to get positive feedback from family groups and having raised our own children at our much loved property, we get much pleasure from these reviews.
And Yes, good WiFi certainly keeps everyone happy!
We would love to have your group stay again
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJH65
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Voyage to Yesteryear”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A charming and well appointed residence directly across the road from the main city park at Launceston. We had a very enjoyable stay at the place for 5 days whilst attending an international sporting carnival held nearby. The residence was creatively decorated with household items from last century which complemented the heritage look and feel of the residence (it included an original wood/coal stove still in situ, the obligatory out of tune "honky tonk" piano and an impressive collection of old kettles/water jugs). There were plenty of bedrooms and the 2 bathrooms were very large and comfortable (one even included an old fire place to provide some visual entertainment). The main kitchen/living area was large enough to entertain the family and other members of the group and there was a quite lounge room retreat in the front of the house. The main advantage of the house is its location. You can walk straight out the front door and across the road to the city park which is a traditional heritage style park from the Victorian era but also includes an imported colony of snow monkeys from Japan. A short walk further and you are into the cafes in the main street of Launceston. On one evening, we organised a BBQ for an extended group in the park using the BBQ facilities and play area which are conveniently located directly across the road from the house. The price was on the expensive end of the spectrum but represented good value in the context of another family staying with us.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
HI Guys, thanks so much for your great review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ellies Place on City Park. We think Ellies is a pretty special place- the location is the best in Launceston opposite the wonderful City Park (one of Australia's top ten parks)and the Heritage listed building has lots of hints of yesteryear but of course with all the modern amenities, including WiFi, ducted heating and plenty of home entertainment (besides the heirloom piano which is seriously out of tune!) Hope to have you visit again one day
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 201
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing