We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden treasure, what an honour to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
The beautiful City Park is just across the road Downstairs bathroom with claw foot bath and shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Welcome to Ellie's Place on City Park
The beautiful City Park is just across the road
Downstairs bathroom with claw foot bath and shower
Fully equipped kitchen
Family/ dining room open plan to kitchen, includes TV
Formal Living room with DVD and TV
Formal living alternate view
'Taffies Room' - queen bed
'Remy's room- double bed
'Chloes Room'- single bed
'Ellie's Room' - double bed
Upstairs bathroom- large shower
Study
Rear View, great casual seating area and cottage garden
Girls' weekends away packages-We welcome enquiries to quote a package for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
inthepype...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure, what an honour to stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Such a beautiful house, theowner has decorated very tastefully. We all felt at home, and were really pleased with the location. The beds were extremely comfortable, everything was a s clean as a whistle, the heating was perfect and the garden lovely to sit in with a cuppa. There is a lovely park across the road that you can walk through to the city centre. Taking a left took us along the waterfront for a tastey lunch at Salsas, around to the Wool Mill for a spot of gift shopping and onto Cataract Groge trail. Its about 1 hours walk, and a lovely one indeed. We only had four days but packed a lot in. A must is to visit Me Wah, Chinese Restaurant for great service, food and lively ambiance. We were lucky enough to be taken for a day trip to Evandale market, onto Joseph Chromy Winery for an exquisite lunch and a drive along the Tamar River by the owner. Overall a very welcome, comfortable and enjoyable holiday. A big thank-you to Bronwyn (the owner) who went above and beyond to accommodate us.
All the best Bronwyn, we do hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Our plane being delayed, and time between checkout and the flight.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review; I'm glad you and your travelling companions had such an enjoyable time.
Thought you might like to know that the beautiful city park was voted one of the top 10 parks in Australia, so we feel privileged to have it just across the road from us!
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariedon1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“best self contained accommodation we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in April 2012

Ellies Place in Launceston is by far the best self contained accommodation we have ever stayed in I can highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean well appointed and superbly decorated accommodation.In a great location with easy access to the house made our stay most enjoyable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor and comfort of the house and having every thing that was needed to make our stayenjoyable
Liked least: nothing negative at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Hi Marie,
Thanks so much for such a lovely compliment!
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Ellie's and also to see the beautiful craftwork that you do.
Thanks also for the lovely card you sent me, I have it on display in the house! I hope to see you again another time
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2013
Thanks very much for your review , we are glad you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed the house so much. Ellie's is a great place for individual travellers or for friends and families to get together . We have fully equipped the house to ensure a great experience and for groups in particular offer a more comfortable and cost effective alternative to hotels We aim to give you the comforts of home and love to add the extra touches of quality linen and bedding. Look forward to seeing you next time you visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdamK_11
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage, very well presented and in a great location.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Ellie's Place.

The cottage is very well presented, neat and clean with everything we needed to have a great stay. The park with the monkeys across the road is lovely.

Everything we needed was close by and it was also lovely and quiet at night.

Kitchen was very well stocked and we had everything we needed to prepare all meals on site.

Would highly recommend this as an alternative to a hotel and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cute Cottage, the front lounge is lovely.
Liked least: Water restrictors on showers.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2013
Thanks very much for your review Adam. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year!
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn T
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful house, great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

A beautifully presented home away from home (far more elegant than my own!) with everything you could possibly need and plenty of space for everyone to be comfortable. Located within easy walking distance of central Launceston, directly across the road from a lovely park, and a supermarket (open until late) not far in the other direction. We were very impressed with the owner's attention to detail, both in the residence (formerly her family home) and in our contact with her.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fantastic attention to detail, all credit to the owner!
Liked least: Downstairs shower very small (but a larger one upstairs, and the focus of the downstairs bathroom is the impressive clawfoot bath.)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, it was a pleasure to have your family stay at Ellie's Place on City Park, the location of the house is pretty special and it is great to see people enjoying it, The 2 bathrooms are a bonus for large groups with the extra large shower upstairs and the very popular claw foot bath with a regular size shower downstairs in that huge bathroom!
Kind regards
Bron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;