We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments At York Mansions
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We needed to be in Launceston for just one night. The decision to stay at the Apartments at York Mansions was from previous Trip Advisor reviews and its location.

On arrival which was after dark we were met by John owner, a very welcoming person and escorted to the Baroness Apartment.

My wife and I love the older historic look, feel and style of buildings. The Baroness Apartment was all this and more, and on entering it was warm with a homely and comforting feeling : )

Our apartment consisted of:

- Master Bedroom with queen bed, side tables, and standalone cupboard for hanging clothes, single chair and suitcase stand.

- Second bedroom with 2 single beds

- Bathroom with walk in shower, toilet and vanity

- Kitchen with fridge, oven, cook top, microwave and enough utensils to get by

- Lounge, 2 seater a 1 seat, good size digital TV and DVD player with a selection of DVD’s, gas fire, small dining table for four, coffee table and bookshelves with a wide range of old looking books

I loved the queen bed as it was firm, but my wife doesn't but she still slept well. And the pillows, I am fanatical about my pillows as to me a bad sleep can ruin a trip. And I must say they were very comfortable, and there were spares of similar quality, not often seen in other accommodation places.

The position of the apartments is a good climb up the hill from the Launceston Mall, but not hard and overall we loved the Apartment at York Mansions.

Well done, and we have decided on our return we will go back, big tick.

P.s. Lovely terraced gardens at the rear of the property.

Room Tip: Although on a some what busy road, the bedrooms are at the back, did not hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Comfy, 2 BR fully appointed apartment. We had an upstairs apartment, the balcony out onto the street with views of the hills and town were magical on a warm day. The style of the decor may not suit everyone's tastes. The living area was large with plenty of seating, separate dining table, and kitchen was well stocked with large fridge, plenty of crockery and cutlery, stove and oven. Whilst appliances were dated, everything was clean and functional. Some cold nights, no central heating but dedicated gas log heater in the living area which was more than enough for that room, and smaller portable column heaters for the BRs. Cupboards in the BRs for storage. Flat screen TV, DVD player and micro sound system in the living area. We particularly chose this place because of the in-apartment washing machine and dryer, with 2 kids was very useful. Great attentive service from our hosts John and Anne. Dedicated off-street parking for our hired car. A short walk to Brisbane St mall!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed in Launceston for 2 nights. My 2 friends and I were upgraded from the Countess Room to the Duchess Room at no extra cost at the Manager's request. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds are excellent. The accommodation is in easy walking distance to the Mall and town centre.
The Manager was friendly and provided helpful tips on where to eat, places to see, things to do, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our family of four stayed here for our two night visit to Launceston. We found the location was excellent for a walk into town ( 3 mins ) and to very good nearby restaurants. The owners provided a folder with restaurant recommendations and other tourist attractions which was helpful. We like period style accommodation, and this certainly fit the bill. It was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali-dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The York mansions Duchess suite is roomy and has everything you will need. For those craving fresh clothes, there is a washing machine (toploading!) and dryer and a pulley clothes line as well. Washing powder sachets supplied at $2 (seemed slightly niggardly to charge?). Well equipped kitchen. Nice period decor in this 1840 building, historically uneven floors, roomy lounge and main bedroom. Bed is decidedly firm. Second bedroom is up steep stairs in attic space and is less comfortable. Free internet connection via wireless modem (strong signal). No aircon (not needed with strong through-flow). Good shower + large spa bath. Supermarket 10 min walk away.

The situation in York street is OK, but not particularly attractive: mixture of commercial buildings and period houses, back side of the city away from the river. Slightly unsalubrious flats in large house next door. Communal staircase gives slight “boarding-house” feel. However, none of that was particularly bad and the apartment is certainly comfortable and functional. Easy to enter and exit city at various points. And no doubt quieter than waterfront accommodation. Nice private gardens and trees, tables and chairs, out back. Only limited accommodation offerings in Launceston. York Mansions is worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
1.0 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments At York Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments At York Mansions

Property: Apartments At York Mansions
Address: 9 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): $173 - $230
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments At York Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments At York Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Mansions Launceston
Apartments At York Mansions Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing