We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Provincial-Style Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments At York Mansions
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Provincial-Style Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Comfy, 2 BR fully appointed apartment. We had an upstairs apartment, the balcony out onto the street with views of the hills and town were magical on a warm day. The style of the decor may not suit everyone's tastes. The living area was large with plenty of seating, separate dining table, and kitchen was well stocked with large fridge, plenty of crockery and cutlery, stove and oven. Whilst appliances were dated, everything was clean and functional. Some cold nights, no central heating but dedicated gas log heater in the living area which was more than enough for that room, and smaller portable column heaters for the BRs. Cupboards in the BRs for storage. Flat screen TV, DVD player and micro sound system in the living area. We particularly chose this place because of the in-apartment washing machine and dryer, with 2 kids was very useful. Great attentive service from our hosts John and Anne. Dedicated off-street parking for our hired car. A short walk to Brisbane St mall!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed in Launceston for 2 nights. My 2 friends and I were upgraded from the Countess Room to the Duchess Room at no extra cost at the Manager's request. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds are excellent. The accommodation is in easy walking distance to the Mall and town centre.
The Manager was friendly and provided helpful tips on where to eat, places to see, things to do, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our family of four stayed here for our two night visit to Launceston. We found the location was excellent for a walk into town ( 3 mins ) and to very good nearby restaurants. The owners provided a folder with restaurant recommendations and other tourist attractions which was helpful. We like period style accommodation, and this certainly fit the bill. It was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali-dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The York mansions Duchess suite is roomy and has everything you will need. For those craving fresh clothes, there is a washing machine (toploading!) and dryer and a pulley clothes line as well. Washing powder sachets supplied at $2 (seemed slightly niggardly to charge?). Well equipped kitchen. Nice period decor in this 1840 building, historically uneven floors, roomy lounge and main bedroom. Bed is decidedly firm. Second bedroom is up steep stairs in attic space and is less comfortable. Free internet connection via wireless modem (strong signal). No aircon (not needed with strong through-flow). Good shower + large spa bath. Supermarket 10 min walk away.

The situation in York street is OK, but not particularly attractive: mixture of commercial buildings and period houses, back side of the city away from the river. Slightly unsalubrious flats in large house next door. Communal staircase gives slight “boarding-house” feel. However, none of that was particularly bad and the apartment is certainly comfortable and functional. Easy to enter and exit city at various points. And no doubt quieter than waterfront accommodation. Nice private gardens and trees, tables and chairs, out back. Only limited accommodation offerings in Launceston. York Mansions is worth considering.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The York apartments are quaint, excellently located and the hosts are indeed friendly and helpful. While I gave it a rating of 4 I do have one criticism. I stayed at the Baroness Suite with my mother and sister. The main bedroom has a wonderful bed, the kitchen is more than adequate and the bathroom excellent. The second bedroom however is very small and has two very uncomfortable single beds which I think are not really suitable for adults. My sister was not able to sleep on the bed but fortunately the lounge was comfortable. I feel the apartments are more suitable for a couple or a family with very young children. Sleep quality rates highly for me and this was a let down.

As for breakfast, this is not a criticism just a misunderstanding. I thought breakfast was included in the rate but it wasn't.

I don't want Ann and John to think that we didn't enjoy our stay at the York we certainly did but I think the bed situation needs to be pointed out to future travellers. I don't know why people thought location is noisy and rooms are not warm we thought the opposite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.0 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments At York Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments At York Mansions

Property: Apartments At York Mansions
Address: 9 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): $167 - $280
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments At York Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments At York Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Mansions Launceston
Apartments At York Mansions Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing