We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments At York Mansions
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
USD 178*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
USD 114*
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 195*
USD 155*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
USD 154*
USD 116*
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Regent(Launceston)
USD 178*
USD 143*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
USD 98*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
USD 128*
USD 119*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Batman Fawkner Inn(Launceston)
USD 62*
USD 60*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Quest Launceston(Launceston)
USD 165*
USD 127*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Old Bakery Inn(Launceston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
35
26
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
26
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomfree wifihotel apartmentthese apartmentsgreat locationlovely apartmentself contained unitoff street parkingstayed longerwithin walking distancelaundry facilitiesspa batha great staycity centrefireplacelodgebedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed in Launceston for 2 nights. My 2 friends and I were upgraded from the Countess Room to the Duchess Room at no extra cost at the Manager's request. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds are excellent. The accommodation is in easy walking distance to the Mall and town centre.
The Manager was friendly and provided helpful tips on where to eat, places to see, things to do, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our family of four stayed here for our two night visit to Launceston. We found the location was excellent for a walk into town ( 3 mins ) and to very good nearby restaurants. The owners provided a folder with restaurant recommendations and other tourist attractions which was helpful. We like period style accommodation, and this certainly fit the bill. It was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bali-dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The York mansions Duchess suite is roomy and has everything you will need. For those craving fresh clothes, there is a washing machine (toploading!) and dryer and a pulley clothes line as well. Washing powder sachets supplied at $2 (seemed slightly niggardly to charge?). Well equipped kitchen. Nice period decor in this 1840 building, historically uneven floors, roomy lounge and main bedroom. Bed is decidedly firm. Second bedroom is up steep stairs in attic space and is less comfortable. Free internet connection via wireless modem (strong signal). No aircon (not needed with strong through-flow). Good shower + large spa bath. Supermarket 10 min walk away.

The situation in York street is OK, but not particularly attractive: mixture of commercial buildings and period houses, back side of the city away from the river. Slightly unsalubrious flats in large house next door. Communal staircase gives slight “boarding-house” feel. However, none of that was particularly bad and the apartment is certainly comfortable and functional. Easy to enter and exit city at various points. And no doubt quieter than waterfront accommodation. Nice private gardens and trees, tables and chairs, out back. Only limited accommodation offerings in Launceston. York Mansions is worth considering.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The York apartments are quaint, excellently located and the hosts are indeed friendly and helpful. While I gave it a rating of 4 I do have one criticism. I stayed at the Baroness Suite with my mother and sister. The main bedroom has a wonderful bed, the kitchen is more than adequate and the bathroom excellent. The second bedroom however is very small and has two very uncomfortable single beds which I think are not really suitable for adults. My sister was not able to sleep on the bed but fortunately the lounge was comfortable. I feel the apartments are more suitable for a couple or a family with very young children. Sleep quality rates highly for me and this was a let down.

As for breakfast, this is not a criticism just a misunderstanding. I thought breakfast was included in the rate but it wasn't.

I don't want Ann and John to think that we didn't enjoy our stay at the York we certainly did but I think the bed situation needs to be pointed out to future travellers. I don't know why people thought location is noisy and rooms are not warm we thought the opposite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We recently stayed in the Duchess apartment for 3 nights. It has a textured, heritage feel, while still being clean and very comfortable. The living / dining room was large, well furnished, and heated by a gas fireplace. The bedroom was warm and the bed, while a little creaky, was fine. The kitchen is well supplied and more than adequate for eating in. The usual managers were away, but the lady helping out was friendly and helpful. The rear garden is a pleasant and quiet spot.

The apartments are only minutes walk from shops and restaurants etc, and it is just a brisk stroll to attractions like the Gorge.

All in all, we found this place comfortable and clean, reasonable value and well located. We will have no problem re-booking there again when we next visit Launceston.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps, a lower apartment may be more suitable.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CondaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews