We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
LouTassie
Devonport, Australia

Different standard rooms depending how you book.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Second stay here at this Coach House in Launceston. The 1st room we booked directly and we stayed in a lovely room, complete with eating table & 2 chairs as well as a lovely little coffee pod coffee maker. Nice coffee too. We also had several bottles of drinking water to use on that occasion. On this occasion, our room, $100 cheaper when booked with a third party for two nights, lacked the nice points mentioned above. No dining table, only one chair, no coffee machine & no bottled water. The Coach House is close to St Luke's hospital yet other hotels are closer to the town center. Parking is easy and there is no restaurant. They have a public laundry and the machines take $2 & $1 coins.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$255
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
DSC
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$179
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$171
  • all.accor.com
    AU$179
1.4 km from Coach House Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$223
  • Booking.com
6.6 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Booking.com
5.9 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$97
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from Coach House Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom Living
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Coach House Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
42
112
47
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
112
47
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park parking area microwave toilet laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

The room was large, clean and has a fridge, microwave, toaster, tea and coffee making facilities. There was also a large spa bath, as well as the usual bathroom/toilet facilities. As well as a queen size bed there was also a single bed so a small family could stay here. The hotel is located in a very hilly area of Launceston so the car park was a bit of an experience being on a steep slope. We found the hotel to be good value for money and staff were friendly and helpful

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Very minimal, shabby rooms of doubtful cleanliness, at maximal expense. Explicitly states that no service is offered, so to that extent at least the management is honest! But if you are staying two nights or more, you only get one night's worth of tea/coffee/milk/towels etc, even though you are paying for these items in the room charge.

We had booked and paid for two rooms, but when I arrived the receptionist rudely said I could not check in 'because I did not have the same name as the person who booked', and I would jolly well have to wait until the person who booked arrived. (Actually, the person who booked was my daughter-in-law.)

This is an extremely rude, discriminatory, and just plain stupid thing to say. For example, a husband and wife could have different names, and arrive separately. Also, I arrived at 3 pm, but what if my daughter-in-law arrived at 10 pm? The polite thing to do would be for the receptionist simply to ask if she could have a word with my daughter-in-law on the phone, or see a text message.

Another point: the rudest, most aggressive utterance in the 'hospitality' industry is 'Can I help you?' spoken loudly through gritted teeth and rictus smile. The receptionist really ought to book a course at charm school.

If - despite all - you are thinking of staying here, keep in mind that it is a very steep, long walk down to the city centre - and back up. The Coach House is not suitable for children, as the upper storey concrete walkways and steps are extremely dangerous for toddlers.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rowenab432
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023

Got off to bad start, had to move rooms on arrival. Contact a little difficult as is late Sunday evening, but I was told which room to go to and all went well after that.
Faily basic hotel somewhat dated but that was reflected in the price. Good value.
Room was basic but clean and had all standard facilities (kettle, microwave, TV ETC.)
Was bigget than many I have stayed in (esp. in Europe)
Paul was the new manager and it was his first day, and he quickly sorted out that I had booked an additional night through reception (I had only booked 4 on Webjet) but it wasn't correctly entered in the system, nor had it been paid for even though I quoted my card No. All was sorted and he was very good to talk to and efficient.
Recommended If you want a basic room and efficient friendly service.

Room tip: Car park is very steep.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 43SteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Filthiest accomodation I’ve ever stayed in. Stained pillows, hairs in beds, dust everywhere, rat baits in kitchen, unsecured fixtures. The shower floor was disgusting. Avoid at all costs.
Bodily fluids on cabinets. The oven was filthy as the bathroom which stunk of mould. The entire ‘apartment’ smelt like mould. So much dust. Housekeeping need to be revised as it looks untouched

Room tip: Wrong way Go back
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aaliyah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Well to say we were very disappointed is an understatement we stayed in the self contained unit which wasn’t clean at all.

They had plenty of notice we were coming
On arrival after we received the keys we entered the unit the grease all over the table was evident as was the used tissue on the floor .

Upon further investigation we found the place hadn’t been vacuumed
The door behind the ensuite had rubbish and dirt
The exhaust fan had not been cleaned for months

The microwave was dirty the stove top had food over it very disappointing.
The sink had noodles in the drain strainer now remember we had just arrived

The other thing to be aware of is they take your money out before you even arrive ,unlike the rest of Tasmanian who wait for you to actually book in

The next time we packed up everything and took it with us so they could actually clean it properly and then they had the audacity to say mistakes happen .No that is just lazy cleaning

The only positive was the bed was very comfortable

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews