We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$133
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DWLSydney
Sydney

Excellant central Launceston Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Nov 2023
Fine grand old hotel with most of yhe trimmings and decor. Good location, quality rooms and old fashioned service. Would be nice to have paper compendium and guaranteed parking but minor issues. Food excellent!
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$253
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$125
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
0.7 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$76
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$94
  • Expedia.com
3.3 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom Living
Booking.com
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$117
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Official Hotel
6.2 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,753 results
Traveller rating
755
996
613
250
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
755
996
613
250
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location buffet breakfast per day central location room service city park car parking business trip would stay again room was spacious great value for money conference cbd eateries australia tassie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 2,753 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Do book as always busy. Great service and convenient location with city center an easy walk. Rooms are very nice, comfortable, and clean. Ordered their home cured corn beef and sauragraut burger. Best burger 🍔 I have ever had. 😋

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank getnround
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2023

Unfortunately one of the worst High Tea experiences I've ever had. Two sandwiches each, both which were stale, one tiny 'meatball' which I assume was the savoury item as there was nothing else, scones the size of a 50 cent piece and hard (the jars holding the jam and cream were bigger!) and we had to wait almost 2 hours for service to get a hot drink. We saw a guy walking around in a suit which I assume was the manager, avoiding eye contact with us the entire time while were sitting there on our own for the 2 hours with nothing on our table waiting for the pot of tea or coffee. I actually just read a review from 2016 with almost the same comments so clearly they have not learnt one thing in 7 years!! You would expect with such a beautiful exterior and entrance that owners and staff would ensure their guests dining experience compliment this. Clearly this is a huge fail.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Selena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Great Staff and Customer Service. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was nice. Parking was available. Nearby City centre. Very clean rooms. Reception provides great services. Hotel lobby was great. Highly recommendable.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MHMalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Great Customer service and professionalism. Reception provided great services and were very helpful. Neat and Clean Rooms. Nice breakfast. Not far from City Centre. Highly recommendable. Parking are available onsite hotel and on street (check allowed parking timings)

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MunawarHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Great location and lovely rooms with an aging decor. The bed was super comfortable, but the tv was in a weird spot in relation to the bed. The only thing that let us down was the room service food. The club sandwich and Caesar salad were really not appealing and way over flavoured with garlic and vinegar, but we were super hungry so ate them anyway.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PennyPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews