We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janice M
Busselton, Australia

First time in Tasmania

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Oct 2023
Quick 2 night stopover in Launceston. Very impressive hotel, very friendly and relaxing, could not fault a thing.
Room service breakfast was lovely and the bar in the foyer was a great meeting place to make new friends
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
AU$132
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$152
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • all.accor.com
1.3 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$73
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom Living
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (2,772)
Filter reviews
2,773 results
Traveller rating
770
999
614
251
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
770
999
614
251
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location buffet breakfast per day central location room service city park car parking business trip would stay again room was spacious great value for money conference cbd eateries australia tassie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 2,773 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2023

We had a king room , room was clean and tidy,staff were friendly and helpful ,we had the buffet breakfast in the restaurant the food was amazing plenty to choose from excellent value and ,highly recommend their breakfast

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ccbears2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

Very well located in the city with cafes, restaurants and shopping just round the corner. Very comfortable rooms and kept clean. Nice lobby and restaurant at the lobby (reasonably priced). The car park is a public one and needs to be paid for.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AmitRatadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2023

Bed was super comfy. It is a nice, clean, spacious old-world style hotel with excellent service. The breakfast (buffet) has great menu choice, it is well-presented, with fresh, good quality food. Location convenient to work, restaurants, city centre and has ample parking. Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dfitzpatrick2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2023

Room was clean but decor was outdated. Areas outside rooms smell ancient, carpets and paint need updating.

Buffet continental breakfast was very good and well priced.

Salmon for dinner was overpriced at $49. Crispy soft shelled crab was not crispy but soggy and very greasy. Seasonal greens side dish was very salty and greasy.

Central location, walk to everything.

So, I will still recommend GC hotel for first timers in Launceston due to its central location.

If you don’t mind old hotel rooms, this hotel is good for you.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tasmaniafirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel, Staff was super professional and the food was excellent. I stayed 2 nights and wished that I stayed another night instead of driving back to Hobart in the late afternoon/evening.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bert624
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews