We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

An average hotel, excellent location for the town centre and to be honest not too far to walk to the gorge. The bar / evening restuarant is excellent and the chef and staff are clearly all there to serve. That said, the weekend breakfast was a totally different matter - a disgrace. Self service buffet with very poor replenishment and the scrambled egg: well you'd have though the chef would get the hint when the only thing left is the untouched scrambled egg!!! nuff said. Housekeeping is intermittent in standards, clearly much above making the bed is asking too much.
And the usual restuarant bar staff, who are excellent (- can't remember his name but he's welcomiing without being over-friendly and talkative if you want to be) are either on holdiay or have left, because the two idiots who were on last night lost the plot and it all went to peices. It was like a 'gotcha' TV comedy show as they over-compensated for their inability.
Check-in are very helpful. normal bar / resturant staff are excellent and the chef (in the evenings is superb). Bar / restuarant staff last night should be shot. And whoever cooks breakfast at the weekend should be ashamed to call themselves a cook, let alone aspire to being called chef. The worst breakfast I've eaten in a hotel (and there's been many!) in a very very long time.

So, I wouldn't not stay here, just take it as you find it and go somewhere else for your weekend breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Former_UK_Sapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 829 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE, just a few things that were wrong with the room on our 2 day stay. Blood on single bed, pillow on single bed had stain on cover. White stain on red chair stain on side of bench top. Urine on toilet around seat clips, back of toilet covered in dust and pubic hairs, vent in bathroom very dusty ants all over bathroom toilet and basin. Towel had old blood stain on it. They did spay the ants with fly spray for us. Booked as a wotif Mystery Deal Self rated 4 Star please beware before you book.
Manager called offered to send a voucher for our next stay but never received any vouchers no follow up very dissapointed and would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Avoid Room 108. I found the Colonial through wotif and it was a good price. When we arrived the girl at reception was very nice and gave me a survey form due to my booking through wotif and asked me to fill it out and hand back when we left. She indicated it was to give them feedback on any areas of the hotel that needed improvement etc. Our room 108 was on the ground floor. It was clean and had been modernised with new stone bench tops etc and had nice toiletries. Given the price we paid I was rating it a 4.5 in my mind. That was until we returned from dinner and went to bed. I have travelled the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels. I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed in my life !! Im sure the pillows had rocks in them and It was like sleeping on concrete. My husband and I rolled into each other constantly. The next morning there was a different girl in reception. I handed her the survey form and told her about the horrible bed. She rather snootily replied "Well no one has said that before!' I told her to read trip advisor and see that other people had left reviews saying the beds were uncomfortable. In an even more snooty voice she replied "Well if you read trip advisor you will see that there are wonderful reviews about this hotel !' I walked away shaking my head dumbfounded that people do not seem to care when a needed improvement is brought to thier attention. I had been asked after all, to fill in the form to bring attention to any needed improvements !!!! We spent half the day in Launceston trying to find a Chiropractor to fix my husbands back after the horrid bed. So my advice is to avoid room 108 if you are unfortunate to get the basic ground floor room, or pay extra and upgrade, hopefully they do have comfortable beds in the other rooms.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room if you get a basic ground floor room. Test the bed first. Dont stay in Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlomeshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

At check in we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the rear of the motel and we were very happy with our room. Obviously newly renovated, spacious, fantastic bed, modern bathroom with nice toiletries, large LCD TV. Very clean and surprisingly not too noisy. The breakfast in the restaurant in the morning is highly recommended. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Minutes walk to anywhere. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Rooms clean and well appointed but beds too soft/worn and pillows rock hard. Breakfast was very good. Would recommend to others for a short stay accomm option

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
931 reviews
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
519 reviews
0.8 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston

Address: 31 Elizabeth St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Launceston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $125 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston is Launceston's best centrally addressed hotel. Situated in the Launceston CBD and close to all tourist attractions, sporting venues, shops, cafes and the City Park Launceston,it is an ideal base for business or leisure travellers. This Launceston hotel offers a total of 70 welcoming guest rooms, including standard hotel rooms, deluxe hotel rooms, business class hotel rooms, 1 bedroom suites & spa suites. Brand new self contained apartments are also available for those who wish to spoil themselves with some extra space & facilities. All hotel rooms offer mini bar, complimentary tea & coffee, free movie channels, free newspaper, free parking, free gym, and private en-suite. Upgrade to a Deluxe Hotel Room for extra facilities and request a private balcony. Or upgrade to our extra spacious Business Class Rooms and ask for our best value package deal which includes WIFI. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also has an onsite Restaurant & Bar called Three Steps on George which is popular with both hotel guests and Launceston locals alike. The restaurant's decor takes inspiration from traditional British pubs and offers everyone's favourite classic dishes but with a twist. It's a great spot for an after work drink, a romantic dinner on the mezzanine level or a bite with friends or family by the open log fire in winter or in the garden in summer. Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston also features a Function & Conferencing Centre and houses 5 function rooms catering from small groups to large cocktail parties, dinners, and weddings. With free off street parking and a special function rate for accommodation, The Colonial has got conferencing covered. A place with a stylish testament to Tasmania's rich heritage. A truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Choice Australia, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Launceston
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing