We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$215
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
Priceline
AU$215
Fully refundable before Fri, 24 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
AU$215
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
An1ta069
Melbourne, Australia

Boutique Hotel in Launceston

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024
Hotel Verge in Launceston is a boutique hotel in the centre of town. Beautiful industrial look and feel, you arrive to an amazing and very large foyer. Wonderfully welcoming staff, check in and go to your room.
Stunning exposed concrete in the room, including the most beautiful ensuite and shower I have ever seen. Generous sized room with beautiful furniture and finishing.
The onsite restaurant, Diverge, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, has a menu highlighting modern Tasmanian cuisine using local produce.
Highly recommend the Eggs Benedikt and zucchini fritters with haloumi and relish for breakfast, so good.
Looking for somewhere a little different to stay, can highly recommend Hotel Verge.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this review
Responded 4 Mar 2024
The recommendation is awesome – thank you.
We are all delighted you enjoyed your time with us when here in Launceston. And yes, the eggs benny are it!
Sincerely,

Niel Mason
General Manager Hotel Verge Launceston. Proudly Tasmanian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$254
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$256
  • Trip.com
    AU$229
  • Hotels.com
    AU$254
1.1 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$144
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Priceline
    AU$138
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
0.1 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$142
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
    AU$142
0.7 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
DSC
Booking.com
AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
0.2 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
  • Vio.com
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
0.6 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
  • Agoda.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
6.4 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom Living
Booking.com
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Official Site
    AU$125
1.2 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • all.accor.com
    AU$179
  • Vio.com
    AU$166
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
1.5 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
  • Priceline
    AU$105
3.5 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • Agoda.com
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$133
5.0 km from Hotel Verge Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
146
31
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
146
31
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harvest market city park albert hall modern hotel mary ann industrial vibe bread and butter yummy coffee happily book exposed concrete big walk in shower quietest hotel industrial look attractions are within walking distance luxe room sized desk saturday market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Absolutely wonderful, immaculate hotel in a great location with fantastic staff. We really loved happy hour out in the courtyard after a busy day being tourists.. And don’t forget to visit the Japanese macaque Monkeys across the road at City Park.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi Lynsey,
Very much appreciated, thank you. So pleased you had some time in Launceston to get out & about and explore.

Sincerely,

Niel Mason
General Manager Hotel Verge Launceston
Tasmanian Designed. Built. Owned & Operated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Boutique hotel with an industrial vibe. It is located right in town so convenient to walk in town or go to the wharf ( which seems busier). There is a parking area in the back which was nice. Staff was helpful as we tried to figure out some travel plans.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rochelleforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Morning Rochelle,

Many thanks for the nod to our friendly staff – its an absolute pleasure to be your host. See you next time you are in Launceston.

Sincerely,

Niel Mason
General Manager Hotel Verge Launceston
Tasmanian Designed. Built. Owned & Operated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

We decided to go with this hotel because it is relatively new. The hotel itself is very industrial. The finishes and decor of the Verge has an industrial feel.
Staff were very friendly and welcoming and assisted us with inquiries when needed.
Room was a good size and had a comfortable bed.
Breakfast was nice we got to pick off a menu. There is no buffet.
There is ample parking which is free.
Location is relatively good. A short walk to the botanical gardens and a short walk to the mall.
We would stay here again.

Room tip: Parking is very and on-site
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ourgreatadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Good morning,
Thanks for the awesome 5/5 – thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
So good to hear we were a small part of your story “ourgreatadventures” here in Tassie. Safe travels, fond memories and looking forward to seeing you during your next explore in our amazing state.

Sincerely,

Niel Mason
General Manager Hotel Verge Launceston
Tasmanian Designed. Built. Owned & Operated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024

I'd like to show my appreciation to the team at Hotel Verge for the wonderful experience. We checked in on 6 Feb and 10 Feb 2024.

Having stayed in several hotels, we were impressed by both the quality of the room (perfectly clean, great layout, space and ambience), as well as the staff who are helpful and friendly.

Special thanks to Nash from the reservations team who I appreciate for his assistance and swift replies with regards to my reservation throughout, and Brodie and Lauren from reception, who were both attentive and patient to our requests.

Thank you to the team for leaving a strong positive impression. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Launceston.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yamspotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Good morning Regina,
Wow, that is lovely and very much appreciated.
Thank you so much for calling out on the public forum the service delivery of Nash, Brodie, and Lauren. They will be delighted 😊
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you in again sometime.
Sincerely
Niel Mason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

Very modern hotel in close walking distance of the City/town. Most impressed with Kevin Murphy bathroom accessories! Very clean. Large rooms cleaned daily. Fridge, safe, coffee tea, large flat screen opposite bed, three usb ports, room temperature control thst works! Wet room type shower. Lift to all floors. Flat entrance.

Room tip: Restaurant is not open all day. Meals are mostly very spicy. No shower cap or bathroom extras available but very short walk to pharmacy.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank voyagermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niel Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Verge Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good morning Lydia,
Very kind – thank you so much. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here in Launceston and the five star review here is awesome.
Thank you also for the correspondence with suggestions – I made the call to switch from generic bottled water to Tasmanian spring water – failed to order enough. Weve now got this sorted. So too the sourdough option; in hand. Wishing you safe onward travels here in Tasmania and home to the UK. Hoping opportunity presents to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Niel Mason
General Manager Hotel Verge Launceston
Tasmanian Designed. Built. Owned & Operated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews