We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
AU$172
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
73P-Alex
Bangkok, Thailand

When you have such amazing staff, everything is easy!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
Amazing staff! The hotel is an old hospital. Most rooms have a very convenient little kitchenette. The breakfast is cafe style...and they are top level when it comes to service and quality! I'm only Gold ALL, but the recognition was top level with tons of free goodies! Best of all, the staff! Thanks to a great team, positive attitude and can do attitude. Wish we were living closer to be able to come back. This is the place to stay!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Alex,

I am so happy to read that you had a great stay with us. Thanks for being a member of Accor Live Limitless, and I am delighted that the team made your stay so enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Dougal McConnell
General Manager
dougal.mcconnell@mantra.com.au
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$254
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
DSC
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Bedroom Living
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$222
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$171
  • Official Hotel
4.6 km from Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Launceston
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveller rating
1,164
817
192
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,164
817
192
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king studio room service free parking good size city centre reception staff comfortable bed great room convenient location great place to stay would stay again car park hospital manor kitchenette cafes blinds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Not satisfied with the stay. Service was very rude (Phil), kitchen closed, bar closed, no amenities available, not able to cast to the television (not smart tv). Looks like this hotel is only used for people staying at the hospital? Definitely not up to standard of the other great locations we have stayed in beautiful Tasmania. Would not stay again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mojo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank for your your comments. I feel that I may be familiar with the circumstances after receiving information from Phil. Our view differs, and I agree that it would be preferable for you to stay elsewhere in the future.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Very comfortable, staff extremely helpful and easy location. Bed was comfortable and pillows were nice and long, not sure if I would utilise the spa with the view of the hospital but lovely all the same.
Utilised for business, easy connectivity and desk for working conditions.

Room tip: Larger rooms are more accommodating.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katvie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thanks very much for your feedback and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The reception staff were lovely and helpful, the room was large, light and spotless. Lovely comfy bed.
We ate at the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.
Love the breakfast menu, so much nicer than a buffet and a “proper coffee “ included too.
The dinner menu wasn’t large but the food was amazing. My partner had the scallop pie two nights as he found it so delicious. I had the salmon the first night and the battered fish the second. The batter was the lightest and crispest I’ve ever had.

Room tip: Easy parking at the hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

It is so nice to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

We have recently launched a new dinner menu, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.

Please visit us again!

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
General Manager
dougal.mcconnell@mantra.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

I booked this hotel as they listed the restaurant being open for lunch & dinner over the weekend and as providing room service. The restaurant was only open for dinner on Friday night & breakfast over the weekend. Room service was not available at all. Being a solo female traveller this was disappointing as I was looking for easy dinner options without wandering around an unfamiliar city at night.

The water pressure was quite low. The flooring felt lumpy. Not a fan of the orange & brown decor, but that is a personal thing.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was delicious. The hotel was located on Charles Street, so there are a lot of restaurants & cafes within walking distance.

Room tip: Parking could be an issue during peak times.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear Leanne,

Thanks very much for staying with us and for your review. I'm pleased that the team was helpful and your enjoyed our food. However, I am concerned that there may be inaccurate online descriptions of the hotel and I would like to correct this. Could you please email me the details of the website you found?

Many thanks,

Dougal McConnell
General Manager
dougal.mcconnell@mantra.com.au
Ph 03 6337 4100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely Hotel situated across the road from Launceston Hospital. Very well located to city. Rooms very well appointed. As an accor member received upgrade to the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in. The restaurant food was exceptional, all local produce and the staff were so wonderful. Thanks to the lovely Nicole at Breakfast for your top service and knowledge of local produce. Highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Launceston.

Room tip: Easy free parking Very friendly and helpful staff Directly across from General Hospital Locally sourced lovely fresh food
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wheelsfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dougal McConnell, General Manager at Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Thank you very much. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for mentioning Nicole specifically.

Kind regards,

Dougal McConnell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews