We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Previously stayed here so returned as could not find anything in the same league for the great price. Perfect location in Launceston, close to restaurants, grocery store and parklands. Ample breakfast supplies, comfortable bed and robes. Large range of brochures to look through and full kitchen. Easy check in and check out.

Only small negative was some noise from restaurant downstairs in the mornings, otherwise another great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cosmicgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

The TwoFourTwo boutique apartments have been beautifully renovated and are a wonderful place to stay in Launceston. We stayed in The Bakehouse room which has a master bedroom with king bed and a loft room with twin beds, as well as private courtyard, living room and open kitchen. Within 2 minutes walk there are several eateries and within 10 mins walk there is also a large supermarket.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and each is unique, so choose the one that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Stayed at Number 10 - one of the TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments overnight as a family of 4 adults. The place was in the quiet streets of Launceston.
Unfortunately, the stay was not as pleasant as we had hoped it would be and in comparison to two other homes that we stayed in Tassie.
On entering the home, none of the entry hallway lights worked (both light globes), main bedroom light was not working, and nor was one of the two side bed lights in the second bedroom.
Majority of the place was reasonably clean, however parts of the kitchen and the bathroom were outdated. The bathtub itself near the drain is filthy - not a bathtub I would sit in for a deep soak as written on the website. The bathroom amenities were all expired.
The cereal provided as as part of the breakfast inclusion expiry date was the next day.
The smoke detector in the second bedroom unfortunately beeped a high pitched shrill throughout the night.

Location wise, it is located in a convenient location, with cafes nearby. Plenty of parking outside of the home with a visitor parking permit given for the period of stay.

Would not recommend Number 10 to stay. Given the price it is per night compared to other accommodation we stayed at in Tasmania. Care and attention to the place is lacking.

Room Tip: Not recommend to stay with multiple faulty lights, and general needs more attention to detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BabyBunnySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWOFOURTWO, Owner at Two Four Two Boutique Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

There was a small electrical issue that has now been fixed. I'm sorry you didn't phone me on the number provided as I could have fixed the smoke alarm within a few minutes and I would have offered to call the electrician after hours.
I would also have been very happy to compensate you.
The photo and description on the kitchen on my website is a true reflection. It's a full size kitchen, very well provisioned with good quality utensils, crockery, equipment and the designed in style with the remainder of the cottage.
From reviews on Tripadvisor and Booking.com I have an excellent score for cleanliness. You can read that my guests love Number 10 and the other three apartments at TwoFourTwo.
I pride myself on the cleanliness and presentation of my apartments and in very rare occasions that a maintenance issue crops up - without doubt I respond to it and fix it immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

If you want to stay in a stylish apartment surrounded by cafes and restaurants, within walking distance to the city, the waterfront and Cataract Gorge then you won't find better than this accommodation. The owners have thought of and provided everything you could need. More impressive than most high class hotel rooms, with luxury fittings, spa bath and BBQ facilities. Our apartment "The Terrace" had a narrow spiral staircase that we loved but could be awkward for some. Loved staying there and will come again.

Room Tip: Our apartment had a spiral staircase that might suit some but not others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We spent 2 nights at the beginning of our trip staying at 242 in The Terrace and a final night staying in The Bakehouse.
No complaints about either of them. I think on our next visit I would tend to choose The Bakehouse to stay in as it is a bit more spacious.
Once again, like our previous visit 3 years ago, we were able to check-in early.
The breakfast provisions came in handy.
The area itself is wonderful. Very quiet but with lots of cafes, restaurants etc.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Bakehouse has a nice courtyard you can use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.4 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
967 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
0.8 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
1.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Address: 242 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $147 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing