We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay here for only one night in December 16. We stayed in number 10. The place was great, it's in a quiet side street. The house is bright and stylish and is very comfortable. Pat has gone to great lengths to make you feel welcome and the breakfast basket was lovely. She also gave us the heads up as to places to eat at while we're in town.In the words of my four year old "this place is awesome Mum". I'd have no hesitation in recommending this and would stay here again when we are next in town,

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank T-A-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
quevara
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This place is looking dated although I found our apartment very clean and functional. Check in process was seamless and Pam emailed all necessary instructions. Great location with lovely cafes and restaurants close by. Coles just down the road. Nice area overall.

Maybe I was expecting too much after staying at a really nice place in Hobart. I really wanted to rave about this place but I probably won't return if I were coming back to Launceston.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank quevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWOFOURTWO, Owner at Two Four Two Boutique Apartments, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Thank you Quevara for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness, functionality and location of my apartments. I refurbished two years ago introducing a fresh, contemporary style after listening to my guests and in conjunction with my long history of hospitality experience and knowledge. I'm sorry the style didn't work for you.
In addition to this I do have an ongoing maintenance & replacement schedule that ensures my smaller items of furnishings and fittings are of highest quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We had a wonderful stay at TwoFourTwo. The studio was very comfortably furnished and immaculately clean. Located in one of Launceston's most charming little neighbourhoods but still only two blocks from the city centre, TwoFourTwo is ideal. We truly felt at home and really enjoyed the generous breakfast and appreciated that all provisions were locally sourced. Very highly recommended - we will be making this our first choice next time we stay in Launceston!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haleyalambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Launceston is a nice small city. It has a great layout with lots of central downtown dining options, sites and shopping. 242 is located immediately outside that center, but is still very accessible to it, even by walking. 242 is made up of a few apartments, each is unique and named. We stayed in The Studio. Ours had nice woodwork, a modern, but tiny, kitchen, and a sizable bedroom and bathroom. Main complaint is that it can be challenging lugging suitcases up the narrow spiral stair case to the bedroom. I also wasn't a fan of the smell which seemed to be due to the various soap & lotion products based on Tasmanian botanicals that were provided.

There is limited, free parking accommodating 3 cars in a tight fit. There is also a shared laundry facility on the premises.

242 has great proximity to local grocery stores, big ones, as well as a produce store and a butcher shop in case you want to make use of your kitchenette. There are many restaurants within walking distance. Note the Burger Got Soul restaurant had 30-45 minute waits the two times we tried. If you don't like what you see near you, just walk along Charles St. to the city center and you'll find many more. The walk into the heart of the city (such as the visitor center) is a solid 15 minute walk. You'll pass by some nice churches, and a park or two. There are lots of shops and restaurants there. Feels like a much bigger city although that's because its quite compact. While you can walk to Cataract Gorge from 242, it's a little hilly so I'd advise driving to that although they charge for parking there.

We really enjoyed our stay in Launceston. It feels like a great place to live.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions carefully for what suits you as each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We spent two nights in The Terrace. What a delightful place to stay in Launceston. The apartment is beautifully appointed and Pam (owner/manager) has thought of absolutely everything - top quality tea/coffee/breakfast products, even yummy cookies in the cookie jar. Deliciously soft bath robes. Fabulously deep, hot spa bath. The BEST bed and pillow - the best sleep I had on the entire holiday. The apartment is well located - a pleasant walk to the main shopping area, but far enough away for some quiet and privacy. Pub, green grocer, cafes and a Coles just around the corner. I highly recommend The Terrace (and assume that the other properties which make up TwoFourTwo apartments are just as good). Thanks Pam.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveuk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.4 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
879 reviews
1.1 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
1.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,476 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 km away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Property: Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Address: 242 Charles St., Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price range (per night): $169 - $277
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing