We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
19
35
18
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
35
18
13
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

3 night stay turned into one week stay unexpected due to family member having accident and requiring hospital stay. Staff and management very kind, compassionate and accommodating to our changing circumstances.
Unit for 4 of us very comfortable and all we needed facility wise for cooking, washing etc. Quiet beautiful grounds. 10 mins to Launceston and 2 mins to Mowbray for supermarket etc. Easy bus journey to town from road opposite. Everything we look for in a self contained appartment. Reading negative reviews seems unfair, what do you need from accommodation when you are exploring area anyway!
We will be back (maybe without accident prone in laws next time!)
Special mention to the managers and staff who went the extra mile to facilitate our needs!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank linzin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline S, Owner at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, It was great meeting you and your family, it was our pleasure making your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you back for you next visit to Tasmania, hopefully next time you will make it down to Hobart to do some exploring. I hope your Mother is on the mend and had a safe trip home. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

This is a comfy place to stay...clean quiet and the units have all you need if you wish to cook. Hosts are helpful and its in a good location if you have a vehicle.If its hot go for the downstairs units.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2018

As the header implies, this is a large apartment. It was clean, has a well equipped kitchen, two separate bedrooms upstairs, large living area, and is well priced. We have enjoyed less at double the price. It is a pity that we can't use half stars, as I would give it four and a half as it is not true 5 star accommodation, but I can't see how I am able to do that. I give it 5 due to the value for money. To get this at this price ( we actually found the best price on this one through TripAdvisor) is great for families for those wanting plenty of space (as sometimes happens as we get older). There were three of us. Two adults and a young teen. If you want the excellent value for money to continue, try 'The curry house' at nearby Mobarry. Authentic affordable Indian. Location fine if you have car.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thylacinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline S, Owner at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for you lovely review, its great to get such wonderful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. They are a great size apartment with a good size kitchen, great for family with lots of space. We hope to see you again on your next holiday.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Beautify vintage style villa and surrounding landscaping , reception lady is very nice and helpful even accommodating our requirement to change rooms.
There is no shops around but 10 minutes drive only to Launceston city center to get whatever you need and the apartment supply full kitchen.
We stayed our first and last two nights at Tasmania in this hotel, the first two story villa we stayed was very noisy due to the old water pipe everytime you flush the toilet it is noisy. But the last two nights the one level apartment doesn't have this problem. Dust on the window frames and fly screens might need to clean it caused allergy when the wind is strong.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline S, Front Office Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Good Morning Wendy,

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate all feed back. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a beautiful garden setting with lots of gardens and tree around the complex. We are quite close to the city only 5 minutes drive and located just near Mowbray only 2 minutes to the shops. The apartment have great size kitchens for doing your own cooking and space to stretch out. We have fixed the noise pips there was just some air trapped. We hope to see you again for your next visit to Tasmania.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed here eight years ago and it was fabulous. Unfortunately, I don't think it has been cleaned or refurbished since.

We were shocked by how grubby everything was - built up grime on the Lino, stained threadbare carpet, cobwebs and dust on the fly screen, fat build up on the kitchen exhaust, a thick layer of dust on the landing, black on the shower screen AND a pot plant filled with very old stale cigarette butts on the balcony.

The bed and bedding were clean, thank goodness. The towels were small and worn but clean.
The laundry was poorly maintained with broken laminex and exhaust fan full of fluff.
Whilst the kitchen was old it was reasonably clean.

Wifi was free, but impossible to pick up anywhere except on the balcony.

We were booked here for a week, but after only one night of avoiding touching the dirty walls/ light switches/floors etc we decided we couldn't stick it out any longer.
We were offered another room but declined. We were given a partial refund but no apology or explanation as to why the place was rented out in this poor state.

We then spent an extra $300 to get an earlier ferry home, wasted $100 worth of just purchased groceries and did not get to use our $60 National Park pass or our $34 tickets to Deloraine Craft Fair. All up, it ruined our holiday.

I tried to find out who to contact regarding cleanliness standards in rental accommodation, but found negotiating the red tape impossible. I would have preferred making a report to health inspectors, local council or the Tasmanian tourist authority so that something was actually done but could not find a way to effectively do this. Writing this review was the only alternative. I hope the proprietor cleans the place up so that other travellers are not inconvenienced like we were.

Room tip: Look at my photos
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline S, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We sincerely hope that the close relative that was seriously ill, the reason you gave us for leaving abruptly, is well on the way to recovery!
The receptionist on the day did offer you alternative room choices when you said that you did not like that particular apartment, but you chose to leave without looking at any of the other apartments.
Ownership of the apartments has not changed over the last eight years and we are constantly informing the owners that improvements need to be made!!
The apartments are dated, and as new managers we are undertaking an upgrade of all, however we advertise as 3 star and certainly meet the industry standards required for this.
All our linen is professionally cleaned and comes from the same commercial laundry that many of the local hotels/motels use. I am sure that the linen company will be upset to know that their towels are small and worn; we will certainly pass this information onto them. Our housekeeping staff work very hard to maintain the cleanliness of our apartments and understandingly are quite upset by your review, as are we, the management.
We did refund all except the one nights stay that you had had and part of the next night as you did not decide to leave until after the normal check out time and our housekeepers had departed so the room was not able to be cleaned that day for any re-use. Perhaps if you had given reasons why you were leaving, other than the family ill health, we would have been able to discuss alternatives with you and helped you to find accommodation within the area to continue your holiday.
It is not appropriate to refer to your parks pass or fair fees as a loss caused by us, there are other establishments within the surrounds that you could have re- booked with and we would have been happy to assist in this. Yes, Wifi is difficult as we cover 5 acres, are built of stone and concrete and this is not conducive to wifi reception however how to overcome this is currently beyond several IT companies abilities and until the NBN is connected we are using what methods we can to bring it to the complex, and it is free to use! I hope that reception explained this to you upon arrival!
The apartments are well supported by guests from all areas, we acknowledge that the complex is dated (previous managers have not paid attention to upgrades etc) however it is clean, neat and tidy (and currently undergoing renovation.)
Perhaps with a little communication between both parties your holiday could have been more enjoyable and your writing of this review avoided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews