We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
paul_mcmlix
Newcastle, Australia

Needs some work.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 May 2023via mobile
Sorry owners, but my stay here was less than enjoyable. While room was very clean, it was in serious need of some upgrades and maintenance. Doors don't close properly, and there was a freezing draught from the gap under the front door! Air conditioner was so noisy I had to turn it off, rendering it useless. Add the freezing draught and I was searching for anything warm to throw on the bed! Bathroom very outdated, and the showerhead sprayed everywhere but down. Other guests seemed to have no consideration, a couple having a headed domestic till 2am, and one group of tradies warming their truck up for 20 mins right out front. Not happy Jan! Chance of me staying again- very unlikely.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$132
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$151
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Expedia.com
    AU$132
0.8 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Expedia.com
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
1.4 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Deluxe Room -  Queen Single Single
AU$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$115
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
  • Hotels.com
    AU$115
1.7 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Great value breakfast
AU$102
  • Priceline
    AU$103
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
2.1 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
Indoor heated pool
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
  • Trip.com
    AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$185
2.1 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$112
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$112
  • Expedia.com
    AU$112
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
2.1 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$220
  • Priceline
    AU$220
  • Agoda.com
    AU$220
4.8 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free parking
Exterior of Deluxe Suites
AU$155
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
9.3 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$104
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
  • Hotels.com
    AU$104
1.9 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotel exterior
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
  • Trip.com
    AU$150
2.7 km from Motel Mount Gambier
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mount Gambier
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
13
34
24
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
34
24
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pleasant stay spacious room three nights stay there again penola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

Bed was comfortable but very soft for anyone who likes a firm mattress.
Room was clean but that's where it ends.
The rooms badly need upgrading
Paint coming of ceiling
Walls paper thin
Tiles bulging from shower wall
The room next door had a young couple that after the fact, we were told by management, had been moved on from other motels in the area due to issues, as they were long term renters.
The first morning we woke up to three police officers at the next room's door
That evening, after more noise, we asked to be moved and they agreed.
However, we had to pack up and move all of our luggage etc, in the dark and cold. Didn't make for a good experience
The new room, the bed was saggy, the bathroom door didn't shut properly and the hand held shower didn't sit properly in it's cradle so had to have a one handed shower.
The whole experience wasn't a good one, and we wouldn't recommend, regardless of the cost.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annmariet193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

We spent two nights at the Motel and enjoyed a very clean and spacious room , and also hardly any noise from the road traffic. We arrived on one of the hottet days in Feb about 39 degrees , our room was airconditioned and working before we enterred, thats good service from the staff and manager. cannot fault the location and price and would definately stay there again

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2023

We stayed one night. The bathroom is not locked or even closed properly, privacy is not maintained. The tissue holder is not set properly, hard to get the tissue out, no extra tissue is provided. No common bathroom or toilet outside for all. No sink was provided for washing the face even. No common kitchen or indoor sports is provided. Otherwise, it is okay.

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank Zaman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2022

THIS MOTEL WAS VERY REASONABLE. IT IS LOCATED ON THE BUST PENOLA ROAD BUT THE TRAFFIC DIES DOWN IN THE EVENING. WE FOUND THE ROOM TO BE ABOVE AVERAGE AND QUITE WELL-APPOINTED. WE STAYED HERE THREE NIGHTS AND HAD TROUBLE WITH THE TV RECEPTION BUT THE STAFF CAME TO OUR ASSISTANCE IMMEDIATELY AND FIXED THE PROBLEM.
THE MOTEL WE VERY WELL APPOINTED WITH CUPS, GLASSES, PLATES AND CUTLERY.
WE HAD A PLEASANT STAY.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eberbach96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to stay.
Have a look at the reviews on booking.com and the way management responds to any criticism, by being abusive and degrading to customers. Clearly this lack of professionalism shows the way in which the motel is poorly run.
The motel is so dated and decrepit, it desperately needs a good clean and updating. The wifi sporadically works and when asked if there was a fix for it we were told “it should work”, we agree it should work but didn’t!
The rooms, linen, towels and reception all smell like Indian food. As much as we, as a family enjoy Indian food we don’t want our bed and towels smelling like it!
If you do stay please do not dare to offer any constructive feedback as you’ll be abused (after they’ve taken your money of course!).

Room tip: Avoid this establishment at all costs.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MissLea888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews